Garth Lagerwey - Seattle Sounders - November 1, 2019

MLS announced the winners of their annual end-of-year club front office awards on Monday, with Seattle Sounders general manager and president of soccer Garth Lagerwey taking the Sporting Executive of the Year award.

Lagerwey helped extend Seattle's Audi MLS Cup Playoffs appearance streak to 11 years, and constructed the roster that captured the 2019 MLS Cup, the club's second in four years under Lagerwey's leadership.

The Doug Hamilton Executive of the Year award went to LAFC executive vice president and chief business officer Larry Freedman. After helping the club to a successful launch in 2018, Freedman helmed improvements in ticketing, sponsorship and commercial metrics in 2019, and helped launch the the LAFC Sports Foundation to support communities in the Los Angeles area.

FC Dallas was honored with the Academy of the Year, while Minnesota United FC picked up Athletic Training Staff of the Year.

2019 MLS Club Executive Award Winners:

  • Doug Hamilton Executive of the Year – Larry Freedman, Los Angeles Football Club
  • Sporting Executive of the Year – Garth Lagerwey, Seattle Sounders FC 
  • Corporate Partnerships Team of the Year – Minnesota United FC  
  • Ticket Sales Team of the Year – Los Angeles Football Club
  • Corporate Partnerships Executive of the Year – Katie Mattis, Minnesota United FC
  • Ticketing Executive of the Year – Jeff Smith, FC Cincinnati
  • Marketing Executive of the Year – John Guagliano, Minnesota Untied FC
  • Public Relations Team of the Year – LA Galaxy
  • Club Retailer of the Year – Portland Timbers
  • Platform/Activation of the Year – Montreal Impact (BMO Jersey Swap)
  • Marketing Initiative of the Year – Atlanta United (Kings Become Legends)
  • Marisa Colaiano Community Relations Club of the Year presented by MLS WORKS – New York City Football Club
  • Business Analytics Team of the Year – Los Angeles Football Club
  • Academy of the Year – FC Dallas
  • Digital Team of the Year – San Jose Earthquakes
  • Digital Content Activation of the Year – LA Galaxy (#BeckhamStatue)
  • Equipment Manager of the Year – Brandon Comisky, Philadelphia Union
  • Operations Staff of the Year – Philadelphia Union
  • Supporter Management Team of the Year – Montreal Impact
  • Security Team of the Year – Sporting Kansas City
  • eMLS Team of the Year – New York Red Bulls
  • Team Administrator of the Year presented by SportsCorp Travel – Ted Tieu, Toronto FC
  • Athletic Training Staff of the Year – Minnesota United FC