Don Garber on Orlando hosting the 2019 ASG: "They've earned it"

The All-Star show is heading south again.

MLS announced on Thursday that Orlando City Stadium will host the 2019 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target, “in recognition of Orlando City Soccer Club’s emergence as a preeminent organization, Orlando City Stadium’s stature as one of North America’s elite soccer venues, and the overwhelming support of soccer fans in the community since the club’s MLS debut in 2015.”

The game will be broadcast on the FOX, Univision, TSN and TVA family of networks, as well as in more than 170 other countries worldwide.

The annual midsummer event will include nearly a week of festivities celebrating the sport and culture of soccer, culminating in a match between the league’s top players and a renowned international club. In recent years, the MLS All-Star opponents have included iconic international clubs Juventus (2018), Real Madrid (2017), Arsenal (2016) and Bayern Munich (2014). Additional details, including the All-Star opponent and date, will be announced in the coming months.

“Orlando City SC has played an important role in the rise and advancement of Major League Soccer during the past few years, and we are pleased to bring the 2019 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target to this passionate soccer market,” said MLS Commissioner Don Garber in a statement.

“Next summer Orlando will be the gathering place for soccer in North America with nearly a week of festivities and meetings. Orlando City Stadium is a world-class venue, and we know the supporters within the Wall will provide incredible energy and support for the MLS All-Stars.”

Heralded as a first-class venue with stands constructed to position fans right on top of the action with optimal sightlines, Orlando City Stadium has welcomed passionate crowds averaging more than 99 percent of the stadium’s 25,500 capacity since opening last year. The downtown venue boasts the first supporters’ standing-only zone in North America and has also hosted US national team matches and NWSL action as the home of the Orlando Pride.

All-Star week will also include myriad other activities, including the MLS All-Star Concert presented by Target and community outreach events by MLS WORKS, the league’s charitable arm.

“We are extremely proud to have been selected to host the 2019 MLS All-Star Game and all of the events that make All-Star week,” said Orlando City SC Chairman and Majority Owner Flavio Augusto da Silva. “This gives us another significant opportunity to welcome national and international soccer to Central Florida, and we couldn’t be prouder of our fans for embracing our club and creating the passionate atmosphere that is giving us the opportunity to bring this event to Orlando City Stadium.”

Next year’s showcase will mark the second MLS All-Star Game in Orlando. In 1998, a crowd of more than 34,000 at the Citrus Bowl watched as a team of MLS All-Stars from the U.S. defeated league stars from the rest of the world, 6-1, via goals from Tab Ramos, Alexi Lalas, Brian McBride, Preki, Roy Lassiter and Cobi Jones. Orlando has also hosted the NBA All-Star Game in 1992 and 2012.

Orlando City SC season ticket members will have first priority on tickets to the 2019 MLS All Star Game presented by Target; for more information visit Tickets for the general public will be sold through a lottery, which will take place at a later date. Register at to enter to win a chance to purchase tickets.


1996: East 3, West 2 (E. Rutherford, N.J.)
1997: East 5, West 4 (E. Rutherford, N.J.)
1998: MLS USA 6, MLS World 1 (Orlando)
1999: West 6, East 4 (San Diego)
2000: East 9, West 4 (Columbus)
2001: East 6, West 6 (San Jose)
2002: MLS 3, U.S. National Team 2 (Washington, D.C.)
2003: MLS 3, CD Guadalajara 1 (Carson, Calif.)
2004: East 3, West 2 (Washington, D.C.)
2005: MLS 4, Fulham FC 1 (Columbus)
2006: MLS 1, Chelsea FC 0 (Bridgeview, Ill.)
2007: MLS 2, Celtic FC 0 (Commerce City, Colo.)
2008: MLS 3, West Ham United FC 2 (Toronto)
2009: MLS 1, Everton FC 1 (Everton 4-3 pen) (Sandy, Utah)
2010: Manchester United FC 5, MLS 2 (Houston)
2011: Manchester United FC 4, MLS 0 (Harrison, N.J.)
2012: MLS 3, Chelsea FC 2 (Chester, Pa.)
2013: AS Roma 3, MLS 1 (Kansas City)
2014: MLS 2, Bayern Munich 1 (Portland)
2015: MLS 2, Tottenham Hotspur 1 (Commerce City, Colo.)
2016: Arsenal 2, MLS 1 (San Jose)
2017: Real Madrid 1, MLS 1 (Real Madrid 4-2 pen) (Chicago)
2018: Juventus 1, MLS 1 (Juventus 5-4 pen) (Atlanta)

Register for All-Star Game ticket information