Sharing the wealth - primary image

When it comes to spreading the wealth among your goalscorers, it's two historic Eastern Conference clubs that top the list in MLS.

The data has been compiled to see which team had the most individual goalscorers in a single season, with last year's New York Red Bulls squad and the 2016 D.C. United unit sharing the honors with 18 apiece. That's perhaps an indicator of adaptation by necessity on the part of RBNY, who only got nine starts and two goals out of Bradley-Wright Phillips last season after the legendary striker had carried the load at a historic rate for the club for the previous five seasons. Daniel Royer was the club's top scorer for the campaign, netting 14 times across all competitions.

It makes sense that the 2016 D.C. team would be on here, too, as that team didn't have a traditional carry-the-load striker in the vein of BWP to soak up the bulk of the finishing opportunities. Lamar Neagle led the team that year with 10 goals across all competitions, while Patrick Mullins had eight in league play. Luciano Acosta was the provider that year, dishing out 11 assists.

The rest of the list was a six-way tie for second at 17, with FC Dallas' 2018 and 2012 sides both making the cut. Check out the full rankings below.

  • New York Bulls (2019) - 18
  • D.C. United (2016) - 18
  • FC Dallas (2018) - 17
  • Montreal Impact (2013) - 17
  • FC Dallas (2012) - 17
  • Houston Dynamo (2011) - 17
  • Chicago Fire (2005) - 17
  • D.C. United (2007) - 17