Jordan Morris in preseason - THUMB

Raul Ruidiaz and Jordan Morris scored as the Seattle Sounders tied Mexican side Club Atlético Zacatepec 2-2 in an eventful preseason match, the first of two the Sounders would contest on Wednesday in Mexico City. In game two, a youthful Sounders XI beat Pumas UNAM 2-1. More on that below.

Colombian center back Yeimar Gomez Andrade made his preseason debut for the Sounders in the first game, who also saw teenager Danny Leyva sent off for a high challenge early in the contest. Being preseason, Seattle continued at full strength with Miguel Ibarra taking Leyva's place. Leyva then started the second match as well.

The Sounders got their goals 19 minutes apart, with Nouhou setting up Ruidiaz for a finish into the top corner in the 14th minute before Morris reached Stefan Frei's goal kick and beat the opposing goalkeeper at the near post. 

Seattle were unable to see out their lead, as Zacatepec struck back in the 63rd minute before scoring a penalty in the 88th minute to level the score 2-2. 

In game two, the Sounders again got off to a quick start as Handwalla Bwana finished off a goalmouth scramble to give Seattle the lead in the 20th minute. Pumas U-20 equalized before halftime. 

Tacoma Defiance forward Danny Robles restored Seattle's lead in the second half, finishing a breakaway assisted by Justin Dhillon. The Sounders were able to see out the final 30 minutes, winning 2-1. 

It was the club's final preseason match before facing Olimpia in the Concacaf Champions League next week. 


Game 1

  • 14' - SEA - Ruidiaz 
  • 33' - SEA - Morris
  • 66' - ZAC 
  • 88' - ZAC

Game 2

  • 20' - SEA - Bwana 
  • 40' - Pumas U20 
  • 61' - SEA - Robles


Seattle Sounders game one (4-2-3-1): Stefan Frei; Kelvin Leerdam, Yeimar Gomez Andrade, Xavier Arreaga, Nouhou; Jordy Delem, Danny Leyva (Miguel Ibarra 11', Alex Villanueva 75'); Cristian Roldan, Harry Ship, Jordan Morris (Danny Robles 85'); Raul Ruidiaz (Eric Kinzer 88')

Seattle Sounders game two (4-2-3-1): Stefan Cleveland (Trey Muse 46'); Alex Roldan, Shane O'Neill, Sam Rogers, Joevin Jones; Josh Atencio, Danny Leyva; Chris Hegardt (Eric Kinzer 74'), Danny Robles, Handwalla Bwana; Justin Dhillon (Alex Villanueva 69')