MLS teams learn their opponents for 2019 Concacaf Champions League

CCL - Concacaf Champions League logo - generic image

Major League Soccer's five representatives in the 2019 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League learned their fates for the opening round during Monday's draw in Miami.

Notably, there will be no all-MLS series in the round of 16, and there will be just one MLS-Liga MX clash to open the next edition of the tournament. Defending champion Chivas de Guadalajara did not qualify for the 2019 CCL.

The Houston Dynamo will face Guatemala's Guastatoya, who won the 2018 Guatemalan Concacaf Champions League playoff.

Toronto FC will take on Club Atletico Independiente of Panama, who were the domestic champion with the most points.

Sporting KC will face Liga MX outfit Toluca, who finished second in the 2018 Clausura season.

Atlanta United will play Costa Rican outfit Herediano, who won the 2018 Concacaf League.

After Atlanta won the 2018 MLS Cup, the New York Red Bulls qualified for the final spot from the US, and the Red Bulls will take on Club Atlético Pantoja of the Dominican Republic, which won the 2018 Caribbean Club Championship.

This is the second year that the CCL will feature a 16-team knockout tournament, with the entire tournament proper taking place in one calendar year. The winner of the 2019 CCL will represent Concacaf in the 2019 Club World Cup.

2019 Concacaf Champions League Round of 16 matchups:

2019 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League Schedule Windows

19-21 Round of 16 - 1st Leg
26-28 Round of 16 - 2nd Leg

5-7 Quarterfinals - 1st Leg
12-14 Quarterfinals - 2nd Leg

2-4 Semifinals - 1st Leg  
9-11 Semifinals - 2nd Leg 
23-25 Final - 1st Leg 
30–2 Final-  2nd Leg