MLS quintet nominated for Canada Soccer 2019 Player Awards

Jonathan Osorio - Canada - anthem

Canada Soccer announced the nominees for their annual player awards on Wednesday, with five current MLS players among the 10 nominees for the Canada national team's 2019 Male Player of the Year award.

Toronto FC duo Jonathan Osorio and Richie Laryea, Vancouver Whitecaps FC'sDerek Cornelius, Montreal Impact'sSamuel Piette and LAFC'sMark-Anthony Kaye are in the running for the honor, alongside former Whitecaps phenom Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich), Scott Arfield (Rangers), Milan Borjan (Red Star Belgrade), Lucas Cavallini (Puebla), Jonathan David (Gent), Junior Hoilett (Cardiff City), and Atiba Hutchinson (Besiktas). The winner will be announced in December.

None of the current MLS players nominated have won the Male Player of the Year award. Davies is the 2018 winner, while Hutchinson has previously won the award six times this decade.

Ten women's players are nominated for the 2019 Female Player of the Year award, highlighted by leading scorer Christine Sinclair, on the cusp of breaking the global all-time scoring record, and two-time winner of this honor Kadeisha Buchanan. UCLA phenom Jessie Fleming is nominated, as well as Janine Beckie (Manchester City), Allysha Chapman (Houston Dash), Sabrina D'Angelo (Vittsjö GIK), Jordyn Huitema (Paris Saint-Germain), Stephanie Labbe (North Carolina Courage), Ashley Lawrence (Paris Saint-Germain), Sophie Schmidt (Houston Dash), Desiree Scott (Utah Royals), and Shelina Zadorsky (Orlando Pride).

The award will be decided following a vote by select media and coaches, with awards also to be handed out to the top youth player among males and females, which includes several players involved in MLS player academies, top para players among males and females, and top futsal player.