MLS announces list of players eligible for Stage 1 of Re-Entry Draft

Blas Perez (Vancouver Whitecaps) celebrates goal against Chicago Fire

UPDATED:Stage 1 results

Stage 1 of the Re-Entry Draft is set to take place at 3 pm ET on Friday afternoon, with 41 players eligible to be selected by all 22 MLS teams.

Players who are out-of-contract or had their options declined and are at least 23 with a minimum of three years of MLS experience or are at least 25 with a minimum of four years of league experience are eligible for Re-Entry. Players eligible for free agency are not included in the Re-Entry process.

Any player selected in Stage 1 of the Re-Entry Draft on Friday will automatically have their contract option for 2017 exercised. If a selected player is out-of-contract, they’ll receive a bona fide offer from the team that selected them.

Stage 2 of the Re-Entry Draft will be held next Friday. Any player unselected in Stage 1 of Re-Entry will be eligible for Stage 2. If selected in Stage 2, a player will negotiate a new contract with their new club.

Players are allowed to opt out of the Re-Entry process up until the start of each draft. Players that have already opted out of Stage 1 include Robbie Keane, Aurelien Collin, Erik Friberg, Zach Loyd, Patrice Bernier and Ashtone Morgan.

The Re-Entry Draft order is determined by the reverse order of the final standings in the 2016 season, taking into account postseason performance. Chicago holds the first pick, while the two expansion clubs, Atlanta and Minnesota, will pick 21st and 22nd, respectively.

Stage 1 Re-Entry Draft eligible players

Previous Club
Razvan Cocis
Chicago Fire
Eric Gehrig
Chicago Fire
Patrick McLain
Chicago Fire
Michael Stephens
Chicago Fire
Steve Clark
Columbus Crew SC
Chad Barson
Columbus Crew SC
Conor Doyle
Colorado Rapids
Chris Korb
D.C. United
Andrew Dykstra
D.C. United
Norberto Paparatto
FC Dallas
Mauro Rosales
FC Dallas
Cristian Maidana
Houston Dynamo
Abdoulie Mansally
Houston Dynamo
LA Galaxy
Kyle Bekker
Montreal Impact
Steve Neumann
New England Revolution
Daigo Kobayashi
New England Revolution
Tony Taylor
New York City FC
Karl Ouimette
New York Red Bulls
Pedro Ribeiro
Orlando City SC
Leo Fernandes
Philadelphia Union
Chris Klute
Portland Timbers
Chris Konopka
Portland Timbers
Jermaine Taylor
Portland Timbers
Olmes Garcia
Real Salt Lake
John Stertzer
Real Salt Lake
Devon Sandoval
Real Salt Lake
Michael Farfan
Seattle Sounders
Damion Lowe
Seattle Sounders
Dylan Remick
Seattle Sounders
Bryan Meredith
San Jose Earthquakes
Mark Sherrod
San Jose Earthquakes
Sanna Nyassi
San Jose Earthquakes
Jordan Stewart
San Jose Earthquakes
Jon Kempin
Sporting Kansas City
Josh Williams
Toronto FC
Daniel Lovitz
Toronto FC
Pedro Morales
Vancouver Whitecaps
Blas Perez
Vancouver Whitecaps

2016 Re-Entry Draft Order

as of December 16, 2016

  1. Chicago Fire
  2. Houston Dynamo
  3. Columbus Crew SC
  4. San Jose Earthquakes
  5. Vancouver Whitecaps FC
  6. Orlando City SC
  7. New England Revolution
  8. Portland Timbers
  9. Philadelphia Union
  10. D.C. United
  11. Real Salt Lake
  12. Sporting Kansas City
  13. LA Galaxy
  14. New York City FC
  15. New York Red Bulls
  16. FC Dallas
  17. Montreal Impact
  18. Colorado Rapids
  19. Toronto FC
  20. Seattle Sounders FC
  21. Atlanta United
  22. Minnesota United FC