Preseason - 2019 - MINvHOU - 02/06

Minnesota United FC and the Houston Dynamo squared off in the Mobile Mini Sun Cup as part of the 2019 preseason presented by Advocare, playing to a 0-0 draw in Tucson, Arizona during four periods lasting 30 minutes each (watch replay above).

Despite some clear looks on both sides, neither team could find the back of the net over 120 minutes of play.

Among the notable events in the match was the red card shown to MNUFC's Francisco Calvo after a scuffle. But the Loons did not play down a man as Chase Gasper took over for Calvo to keep the match at 11-v-11.

The Houston Dynamo, who are preparing for a Concacaf Champions League Round of 16 series against Guastatoya beginning February 19, had the best chance in the closing stages of the affair, but this driven Marlon Hairston cross could not be redirected on goal by Maalique Foster: 

One highlight for Minnesota supporters: From the early going in 2019, it seems like Darwin Quintero will be trying his hand at those goalkeeper chips again.


The Houston Dynamo have two more matches remaining in their preseason slate: vs. Seattle on Feb. 9; vs. Sporting KC on Feb. 13.

Meanwhile, the Loons have three matches left on the preseason docket on Feb. 16 (vs. New England Revolution), Feb. 20 (vs. NYCFC) and Feb. 23 (vs. Orlando City), before opening their MLS regular season slate on the road in Vancouver on March 2.

Minnesota United lineup (1st min): Bobby Shuttleworth -- Francisco Calvo (Chase Gasper 41'), Brent Kallman, Ike Opara, Carter Manley -- Osvaldo Alonso, Jan Gregus -- Rasmus Schuller, Darwin Quintero, Miguel Ibarra -- Ángelo Rodriguez

Minnesota United lineup (60th min): Dayne St. Clair -- Chase Gasper (Jameel Neptune 104'), Wyatt Omsberg, Michael Boxall (Eric Miller 90'), Hassani Dotson -- Collin Martin, Drew Conner -- Jiro Barriga, Brian Anunga, Romario Ibarra -- Mason Toye

Houston Dynamo lineup (1st min): Joe Willis (Tyler Deric 31') -- A.J. DeLaGarza (Chris Duvall 31'), Kiki Struna, Maynor Figueroa, DaMarcus Beasley -- Matias Vera, Juan David Cabezas, Tomas Martínez -- Alberth Elis, Mauro Manotas, Romell Quioto

Houston Dynamo lineup (60th min): Michael Nelson (Nicolas Corti 91') -- Chris Duvall (Andrew Samuels 91'), Kevin Garcia (Erik McCue 110'), Alejandro Fuenmayor (Kyle Adams 110'), Adam Lundkvist (Sam Junqua 110') -- Darwin Cerén, Boniek García (Brad Dunwell 110'), Tommy McNamara -- Marlon Hairston, Ronaldo Peña (Andy Cabrera 110'), Memo Rodriguez (Maalique Foster 110')