Peter Vermes - Side-Eye solo shot - 2017 US Open Cup final

From Jeff Cassar in March to Caleb Porter this week, seven head coaches left their teams in 2017, the highest number of coaching changes in a single year in MLS history.

With so much upheaval in the managerial ranks, we thought it’d be a good time to update the list of longest tenured head coaches in the league. Here’s the full list (year listed indicates a coach’s first season with their club):

MLS head coaches, ranked by tenure: 

Peter Vermes, Sporting Kansas City, 2009-
Ben Olsen, D.C. United, 2010-
Gregg Berhalter, Columbus Crew SC, 2014-
Carl Robinson, Vancouver Whitecaps, 2014-
Oscar Pareja, FC Dallas, 2014-
Jim Curtin, Philadelphia Union, 2014-
Greg Vanney, Toronto FC, 2014-
Jesse Marsch, New York Red Bulls, 2015-
Patrick Vieira, New York City FC, 2016-
Veljko Paunovic, Chicago Fire, 2016-
Jason Kreis, Orlando City, 2016-
Brian Schmetzer, Seattle Sounders, 2016-
Tata Martino, Atlanta United, 2017-
Wilmer Cabrera, Houston Dynamo, 2017-
Adrian Heath, Minnesota United, 2017-
Mike Petke, Real Salt Lake, 2017-
Chris Leitch, San Jose Earthquakes, 2017-
Sigi Schmid, LA Galaxy, 2017-
Bob Bradley, LAFC, 2018-
Remi Garde, Montreal Impact, 2018-
Brad Friedel, New England Revolution, 2018-