LA Galaxy goalkeeper Matt Lampson named MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year

Awards - 2019 - Humanitarian of the Year

For the third time in his career and for a second straight year, LA Galaxy goalkeeper Matt Lampson has been named the MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year. The 2019 award, announced Tuesday, recognizes Lampson’s continued work with the LampStrong Foundation.

Lampson, who was diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma at the age of 17, started the non-profit back in 2013. Since, he’s carried its efforts through stops with the Columbus Crew, Chicago Fire, Minnesota United and now the Galaxy.

The LampStrong Foundation aims to provide difference-making financial, emotional and motivational support to cancer patients and families in all the stages of cancer treatment and recovery. They also fund researchers, with each effort hoping to positively influence the lives of those battling cancer and to encourage survivors and their families to make the most of their second chance at life.

During the 2019 season, Lampson has hosted a child battling cancer at nearly every home and away match. He’s also welcomed children for training sessions at Dignity Health Sports Park, plus regularly visits Children’s Hospital Los Angeles to meet and speak with cancer patients. 

This year, Lampson and his foundation are making a $20,000 donation to the CHLA Oncology Section for adolescent and young adult patients battling the disease. He also hosted 50 CHLA patients and their family members at LA’s home match Sept. 21 against the Montreal Impact. Patients watched from a suite provided by Lampson and were recognized on the field during pregame warmups.

The 30-year-old originally entered MLS in 2012 as a Homegrown Player with the Crew, having starred for Ohio State in the college soccer ranks. He made one appearance this season, though has 61 for his MLS career. 

The MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year award was voted on by club officials, media and MLS players. As part of Lampson’s efforts, MLS WORKS will donate $5,000 to the LampStrong Foundation.

Here’s a look at all previous recipients of the award, which has been handed out annually since 2000: 

  • 2019: Matt Lampson (LA Galaxy)
  • 2018: Matt Lampson (Minnesota United)
  • 2017: Ryan Hollingshead (FC Dallas)
  • 2016: Matt Lampson (Chicago Fire)
  • 2015: Kei Kamara (Columbus Crew SC)
  • 2014: A.J. DeLaGarza (LA Galaxy)
  • 2013: Matt Reis (New England Revolution)
  • 2012: Chris Seitz (FC Dallas)
  • 2011: Zak Boggs (New England Revolution)
  • 2010: Seth Stammler (New York Red Bulls)
  • 2009: Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City Wizards); Logan Pause (Chicago Fire)
  • 2008: Jose Burciaga Jr. (Colorado Rapids)
  • 2007: Diego Gutierrez (Chicago Fire)
  • 2006: Michael Parkhurst (New England Revolution)
  • 2005: Brian Kamler (Real Salt Lake)
  • 2004: Chris Henderson (Colorado Rapids)
  • 2003: Ben Olsen (D.C. United)
  • 2002: Steve Jolley (MetroStars)
  • 2001: Tim Howard (MetroStars)
  • 2000: Abdul Thompson Conteh (San Jose Earthquakes)