Jordan Morris tight shot

Jordan Morris and Gyasi Zardes aren’t just competing for MLS Cup Saturday (8:30 pm ET | TV & streaming info) at MAPFRE Stadium, the attacking stars are also up for the 2020 U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year award, US Soccer announced Wednesday.

Morris, the Seattle Sounders winger, and Zardes, the Columbus Crew SC forward, join Barcelona defender Sergiño Dest, midfielders Tyler Adams of RB Leipzig and Juventus' Weston McKennie and forward Christian Pulisic from Chelsea for their achievements with club and country.

Voting for the awards is open and runs through Dec. 16, 2020 at 11:59 p.m. ET. The winners will be announced on Friday, Dec. 18.

Votes are collected from National Team coaches, National Team players who have earned a cap in 2020, members of the U.S. Soccer Board of Directors, U.S. Soccer Athletes’ Council, American soccer league (MLS and USL) head coaches, select media members and former players and administrators.

Pulisic is the only finalist to have previously won the award, earning the honor in both 2017 and 2019.

The U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year has been awarded since 1984 when Rick Davis won it. Landon Donovan holds the record for most awards, winning it four times and then 18-year-old Pulisic became the youngest player to win the award in 2017.   

Defenders Abby Dahlkemper and Crystal Dunn, midfielders Lindsey Horan and Samantha Mewis and forward Christen Press are vying for their first U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year award.

The U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year has been awarded since 1985, when midfielder Sharon Remer (known then as Sharon McMurtry) earned the inaugural honor. Abby Wambach holds the record by winning the award six times.