Four MLS Homegrowns named to US Under-17 roster for CONCACAF Championship

Andrew Carleton celebrates a goal for the US U-17s

Four MLS Homegrown players were named on Monday to the 20-man US Under-17 national team’s roster for the upcoming CONCACAF U-17 Championship.

Atlanta United FC forward Andrew Carleton and midfielder Chris Goslin, D.C. United midfielder Chris Durkin and FC Dallas forward Bryan Reynolds were all named to U-17 head coach John Hackworth’s roster, which also includes seven players currently in MLS academies.

The CONCACAF U-17 Championship will run from April 21-May 7 in Panama. The US was drawn into Group C alongside Jamaica, Mexico and El Salvador, with the Americans set to begin group play on Sunday against Jamaica before taking on Mexico on April 26 and El Salvador on April 29. All tournament matches will be streamed live on the CONCACAF Facebook page.

The competition doubles as the qualifying tournament for the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup that will be played in October in India. The top two teams from each of three, four-team groups will advance to a second-round classification stage featuring two groups of three teams each. In the second stage, the top two finishers in each group will qualify for the U-17 World Cup, with the first-place teams from each group facing off for the CONCACAF championship.

US U-17 CONCACAF Championship roster:

GOALKEEPERS (2): Carlos Joaquim Dos Santos (Benfica; Philadelphia, Pa.), Justin Garces (Kendall SC; Miami, Fla.)

DEFENDERS (5): Christopher Gloster (New York Red Bulls; Montclair, N.J.), Jaylin Lindsey (Sporting Kansas City; Charlotte, N.C.), James Sands (New York City FC; Rye, N.Y.), Arturo Vasquez (FC Golden State; Mira Loma, Calif.), Akil Watts (IMG Academy; Fort Wayne, Ind.)

MIDFIELDERS (7): George Acosta (Weston FC; Hollywood, Fla.), Taylor Booth (Real Salt Lake AZ; Eden, Utah), Christopher Durkin* (D.C. United; Glen Allen, Va.), Blaine Ferri (Solar Chelsea SC; Southlake, Texas), Christopher Goslin* (Atlanta United FC; Locust Grove, Ga.), Indiana Vassilev (IMG Academy; Savannah, Ga.), Adrian Villegas (Portland Timbers; Hood River, Ore.)

FORWARDS (6): Ayomide Akinola (Toronto FC; Brampton, Ont.), Andrew Carleton* (Atlanta United FC; Powder Springs, Ga.), Zyen Jones (Atlanta United FC; Clarkston, Ga.), Bryan Reynolds, Jr.* (FC Dallas; Little Elm, Texas), Joshua Sargent (Scott Gallagher Missouri; O’Fallen, Mo.) Timothy Weah (Paris Saint-Germain; Rosedale, N.Y.)

*MLS first-team player