Watch: FC Dallas celebrate Supporters' Shield triumph at StubHub Center

After winning just one trophy in 20 years of existence, FC Dallas have already won two in 2016 as they continue to make a case for the best-ever season by an MLS club in league history.

On Sunday, FC Dallas added their first MLS Supporters' Shield, concluding the 2016 regular season with the best record in the league (17-8-9, 60 points) and ensuring home-field advantage throughout the Audi 2016 MLS Cup Playoffs, including hosting a potential MLS Cup final.

Created by MLS fans, the Supporters' Shield is awarded to the supporters' group of the club that finishes with the best point total during the course of the regular season.

Oscar Pareja's squad had previously secured the Lamar Hunt US Open Cup in September and will now look to clinch an unprecedented treble this year as they begin postseason play on Sunday with the first leg of the Western Conference Semifinals.

FC Dallas also advanced to the quarterfinals of the CONCACAF Champions League, clinching a berth on Thursday with a road victory in their group-stage finale.

All-Time Supporters' Shield Winners:

  • 1996: Tampa Bay Mutiny
  • 1997: D.C. United
  • 1998: LA Galaxy
  • 1999: D.C. United
  • 2000: Kansas City Wizards
  • 2001: Miami Fusion
  • 2002: LA Galaxy
  • 2003: Chicago Fire
  • 2004: Columbus Crew
  • 2005: San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2006: D.C. United
  • 2007: D.C. United
  • 2008: Columbus Crew
  • 2009: Columbus Crew
  • 2010: LA Galaxy
  • 2011: LA Galaxy
  • 2012: San Jose Earthquakes
  • 2013: New York Red Bulls
  • 2014: Seattle Sounders
  • 2015: New York Red Bulls
  • 2016: FC Dallas