David Ferreira was named 2010 Volkswagen Most Valuable Player.

TORONTO — FC Dallas playmaker David Ferreira has been named the 2010 Volkswagen MLS Most Valuable Player.

The Colombian international, who joined FCD at the start of the 2009 season, raised his production in 2010, scoring 8 goals and notching 13 assists—second most in the league.

WATCH: 2010 Volkswagen MVP, David Ferreira

FC Dallas attacker Ferreira voted 2010 Volkswagen MVP - Get Microsoft Silverlight

Ferreira has maintained his impressive form in the playoffs, scoring a goal and adding three assists. His matchwinner against the LA Galaxy in the Western Conference Championship ended up putting FCD into the MLS Cup for the first time in the club’s history.

Despite being the most fouled player in MLS this season, he played in every game, and more importantly seemed to be in great form every time he stepped on the field.

“He’s done an amazing job of playing every game this season,” FCD captain Daniel Hernandez said during a pre-MLS Cup press conference on Friday afternoon. “Not only playing every game, but he’s been at 100 percent in every game of the season. That is amazing.”

MVP is voted on by players, coaches, GMs and media members. Ferreira earned 20 percent of the votes, edging out LA Galaxy striker Edson Buddle, who garnered 18.3 percent.

Player Team Percentage of total vote

  1. David Ferreira FCD 20.0 percent
  2. Edson Buddle LA 18.3 percent
  3. Chris Wondolowski SJ 14.6 percent
  4. Landon Donovan LA 11.9 percent
  5. Sebastien Le Toux PHI 8.9 percent

All-Time MLS Most Valuable Players:

2010: David Ferreira – FC Dallas

2009: Landon Donovan – LA Galaxy

2008: Guillermo Barros Schelotto – Columbus Crew

2007: Luciano Emilio – D.C. United

2006: Christian Gomez – D.C. United

2005: Taylor Twellman – New England Revolution

2004: Amado Guevara – MetroStars

2003: Preki – Kansas City Wizards

2002: Carlos Ruiz – Los Angeles Galaxy

2001: Alex Pineda Chacon – Miami Fusion

2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards

1999: Jason Kreis – Dallas Burn

1998: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United

1997: Preki – Kansas City Wizards

1996: Carlos Valderrama – Tampa Bay Mutiny