Eight US Soccer presidential candidates submit nominations by deadline

As the US Soccer Federation presidential election draws closer, the federation announced on Wednesday evening that it had received the required three or more letters of nominations for eight potential candidates prior to Tuesday night's deadline.

US Soccer has not announced the names of the candidates, pending completion of all background checks by the federation's Nominating and Governance Committee, "in the interest of ensuring a level playing field."

US Soccer will formally confirm the slate of candidates for February's election once all background checks have been completed.

Nine candidates have publicly declared their candidacy for the US Soccer presidency: former USMNT player Paul Caligiuri, Soccer United Marketing president Kathy Carter, USSF vice president Carlos Cordeiro, Boston-based attorney Steve Gans, United Premier Soccer League regional director Paul Lapointe, former MLS player and TV analyst Kyle Martino, former USWNT star Hope Solo, lawyer and former professional player Michael Winograd and former USMNT standout and current TV analyst Eric Wynalda.

Current US Soccer president Sunil Gulati last week announced his intention not to seek a fourth term. He was originally elected to the post in 2006 and ran unopposed in each of the last three US Soccer presidential elections.