2011 MLS Awards: Dwayne De Rosario, Volkswagon MVP

LOS ANGELES – D.C. United attacker Dwayne De Rosario officially did the individual double on Friday, adding the 2011 Volkswagen MLS Most Valuable Player crown to the Golden Boot he won earlier this year.

The Canadian international, who played the last 18 games of the season with D.C. after spending the first half of the year with Toronto FC and the New York Red Bulls, beat out Houston's Brad Davis and FC Dallas' Brek Shea to become the fourth D.C. player and first Canadian to win the award.

% of Club Votes
% of Media Votes
% of Player Votes
Weighted Total
Dwayne De Rosario (DC)
Brad Davis (HOU)
Brek Shea (DAL)
Landon Donovan (LA)
Mauro Rosales (SEA)

De Rosario began the year with TFC, his hometown club, but was dealt to New York on April 1 after just two games. From his central midfield spot he helped guide the Red Bulls to the top of the table by the end of April, but a prolonged, team-wide slump through May and June prompted RBNY to deal him to United for Dax McCarty.

His arrival in Washington lit the spark that propelled De Rosario to one of the most memorable hot streaks in league history. He racked up 13 goals and seven assists in his 18 games with D.C., giving him a total of 16 and 12 on the year. He was the only player in MLS to reach double-digits in both categories in 2011, finishing tied with Chris Wondolowski for the league lead in goals and placing fourth overall in assists.

He was named player of the month for July, notching three goals and an assist and putting United back into the playoff hunt. He started August in even better form, notching a hat trick against Toronto then grabbing a pair of assists against Vancouver.

While his hot streak continued, D.C.’s winning ways eventually stopped. A six-game winless run to finish the season saw them miss out on the playoffs, making De Rosario the first MLS MVP to play for a side that missed the postseason.

In all, De Rosario played in 33 games, starting 31. He also either scored or assisted against each of his former teams, including game-winners against New York and San Jose.

MVP is voted on by players, coaches, GMs and media members.

D.C. United's De Rosario voted Volkswagen MLS MVP - Get Microsoft Silverlight

All-Time MLS Most Valuable Players:
2011: Dwayne De Rosario – D.C. United
2010: David Ferreira – FC Dallas
2009: Landon Donovan – LA Galaxy
2008: Guillermo Barros Schelotto – Columbus Crew
2007: Luciano Emilio – D.C. United
2006: Christian Gómez – D.C. United
2005: Taylor Twellman – New England Revolution
2004: Amado Guevara – MetroStars
2003: Preki – Kansas City Wizards
2002: Carlos Ruiz – LA Galaxy
2001: Alex Pineda Chacón – Miami Fusion
2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Jason Kreis – Dallas Burn
1998: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United
1997: Preki – Kansas City Wizards
1996: Carlos Valderrama – Tampa Bay Mutiny

D.C. United's De Rosario voted Volkswagen MLS MVP -