Dan Egner departs as Real Salt Lake technical director after five years with organization

Real Salt Lake on Friday announced the departure of Technical Director Dan Egner, who has left the club to pursue another professional opportunity.

Egner joined the Real Monarchs staff in 2015 as the director of business operations with the USL club in its inaugural season. After the 2015 season, he was promoted to director of soccer operations for one season, then to assistant GM for one season, and eventually to Real Monarchs GM in 2018. The Monarchs won the USL Regular Season Shield in 2017 and the USL Championship title in 2019.

Egner was promoted to RSL Technical Director in December.

“I’m grateful for my five and a half years at the club," Egner said in a statement. "When I began this journey during the Monarchs inaugural season, I could not have imagined getting a chance to work in the technical department of an MLS club. We accomplished things that I will forever be proud of and had a lot of fun while doing it. While I am exiting the club side of the soccer world, I am excited to begin a new journey that will allow me to remain working in the professional game. It is something I have contemplated for quite some time, and after consulting my family and friends and with the seasons coming to a close, I feel that in order to jump into my new venture with both feet, the time to start is now.”

Egner's departure leaves a rare opening as the top personnel executive at an MLS club. While most clubs do employ a technical director or equivalent, there is typically less turnover than in the managerial role.

MLS Technical Staff Executives

  • Atlanta United: Carlos Bocanegra (VP, Technical Director)
  • Chicago Fire FC: George Heitz (Sporting Director), Sebastian Pelzer (Technical Director)
  • FC Cincinnati: Gerard Nijkamp (General Manager)
  • Colorado Rapids: Padraig Smith (Executive VP, General Manager)
  • Columbus Crew SC: Tim Bezbatchenko (President and General Manager), Pat Onstad (Technical Director, VP of Soccer)
  • FC Dallas: Andre Zanotta (Technical Director), Marco Ferruzzi (Director of Soccer)
  • D.C. United: Dave Kasper (General Manager and VP of Soccer), Stuart Mairs (Technical Director)
  • Houston Dynamo: Matt Jordan (Senior VP and General Manager)
  • LAFC: John Thorrington (Executive VP and General Manager)
  • LA Galaxy: Dennis te Klose (General Manager), Jovan Kirovski (Technical Director)
  • Inter Miami CF: Paul McDonough (COO, Sporting Director)
  • Minnesota United: Manny Lagos (Sporting Director), Mark Watson (Technical Director)
  • Montreal Impact: Olivier Renard (Sporting Director)
  • Nashville SC: Mike Jacobs (General Manager)
  • New England Revolution: Bruce Arena (Sporting Director, Head Coach), Curt Onalfo (Technical Director)
  • NY Red Bulls: Kevin Thelwell (Head of Sport), Denis Hamlett (Sporting Director)
  • NYCFC: David Lee (Sporting Director)
  • Orlando City: Luiz Muzzi (EVP Soccer Operations)
  • Philadelphia Union: Ernst Tanner (Sporting Director), Chris Albright (Technical Director)
  • Portland Timbers: Gavin Wilkinson (GM/President of Soccer)
  • Real Salt Lake: Elliot Fall (General Manager)
  • San Jose Earthquakes: Jesse Fioranelli (GM), Chris Leitch (Technical Director)
  • Seattle Sounders: Garth Lagerwey (GM/President of Soccer), Chris Henderson (VP of Soccer, Sporting Director)
  • Sporting Kansas City: Peter Vermes (Sporting Director, Manager), Brian Bliss (Technical Director, VP of Player Personnel)
  • Toronto FC: Ali Curtis (General Manager)
  • Vancouver Whitecaps: Axel Schuster (CEO, Sporting Director)


  • Austin FC: Claudio Reyna (Sporting Director)
  • Charlotte FC: Zoran Krnetta (Sporting Director)
  • Sacramento Republic: Todd Dunivant (General Manager)
  • St. Louis City SC: Lutz Pfannenstiel (Sporting Director)