CCL - 2020 - generic primary image

2019 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup winners Atlanta United have been awarded a berth for the 2021 Concacaf Champions League, US Soccer has confirmed following a vote by the federation's Board of Directors.

The decision was made to award the place to Atlanta after the U.S. Open Cup was not played this year due to the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic. 

The berths allocated by US Soccer for the 2021 Champions League are as follows:

  • Columbus Crew/Seattle Sounders (MLS Cup winners)
  • Philadelphia Union (Supporters' Shield winners)
  • Portland Timbers (MLS is Back Tournament winners)
  • Atlanta United (2019 US Open Cup winners)