CONCACAF announce 2017 Gold Cup venues, USA and Mexico group schedule

CONCACAF announced on Monday the 13 cities that will host the 2017 Gold Cup next July 7-26 and revealed the sites and dates of group stage matches for the US and Mexico national teams.

The USMNT and Mexico will be seeded in next summer’s tournament and will headline Group B and C, respectively. The US will begin their tournament at Nissan Stadium in Nashville on July 8, play their second group game at Tampa’s Raymond James Stadium on July 12 and conclude Group B action on July 15 at FirstEnergy Stadium in Cleveland.

Mexico will play on July 9 at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego, on July 13 at Sports Authority Field in Denver and on July 16 at the Alamodome in San Antonio.

MLS venues will play host to all three rounds of Group A matches. Red Bull Arena will host the opening matches of the tournament in a Group A doubleheader on July 7, the Houston Dynamo’s BBVA Compass Stadium will host the second round of Group A contests on July 11 and Toyota Stadium, the home of FC Dallas, will hold the Group A finales on July 14. Group A will be filled out and a seeded team will be named pending the completion of the tournament field in January.

In all, 14 venues will host Gold Cup matches next summer. The tournament will feature four first-time hosts: the Alamodome, FirstEnergy Stadium, Nissan Stadium and Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, California.

CONCACAF also announced that AT&T Stadium, Levi’s Stadium, Lincoln Financial Field, the Rose Bowl and University of Phoenix Stadium will host Knockout Round matches.

Complete Gold Cup groups and a full schedule for the tournament, including dates and assignment of matches for the Knockout Round, will be announced next year.

Held every two years, the Gold Cup is the official national team championship of CONCACAF, which is composed of countries from North and Central America and the Caribbean. The 2017 tournament will be broadcast in the US on the FOX and Univision family of networks.

The winner of the 2017 Gold Cup will earn an assured spot in the next CONCACAF Cup, a play-in game to qualify for the 2021 FIFA Confederations Cup. The CONCACAF Cup will only be held if two separate champions emerge from the next two Gold Cups. If the same country claims the 2017 and 2019 Gold Cups, they’ll automatically qualify for the 2021 Confederations Cup.

2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup Host Cities & Venues

Seeded Nations

Group A – To be determined
Group B – United States
Group C – Mexico

Group Stage Venues & Dates:

July 7
Grp. A, Matchday 1
Red Bull Arena (Harrison, NJ)
July 8
Grp. B, Matchday 1
Nissan Stadium (Nashville, TN)
July 9
Grp. C, Matchday 1
Qualcomm Stadium (San Diego, CA)
July 11
<span style="line-height: 20.8px;">Grp. A</span>, Matchday 2
BBVA Compass Stadium (Houston, TX)
July 12
<span style="line-height: 20.8px;">Grp. B</span>, Matchday 2
Raymond James Stadium (Tampa, FL)
July 13
<span style="line-height: 20.8px;">Grp. C</span>, Matchday 2
Sports Authority Field (Denver, CO)
July 14
<span style="line-height: 20.8px;">Grp. A</span>, Matchday 3
Toyota Stadium (Frisco, TX)
July 15
<span style="line-height: 20.8px;">Grp. B</span>, Matchday 3
FirstEnergy Stadium (Cleveland, OH)
July 16
<span style="line-height: 20.8px;">Grp. C</span>, Matchday 3
Alamodome (San Antonio, TX)

Knockout Round Venues (alphabetical order by metropolitan area):

Bay Area – Levi’s Stadium (Santa Clara, CA)
Dallas – AT&T Stadium (Arlington, TX)
Los Angeles – Rose Bowl (Pasadena, CA)
Philadelphia – Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia, PA)
Phoenix – University of Phoenix Stadium (Glendale, AZ)

2017 Gold Cup participants (12 nations):

Automatic, North America
Automatic, North America
Automatic, North America
Caribbean Cup
French Guiana
Caribbean Cup
Caribbean Cup
Caribbean Cup
1st place, UNCAF Cup (Jan. 2017)
2nd place, UNCAF Cup (Jan. 2017)
3rd place, UNCAF Cup (Jan. 2017)
4th place, UNCAF Cup (Jan. 2017)
Haiti or Suriname or Trinidad &amp; Tobago vs. 5th place, UNCAF Cup