Jon Kempin - pointing


Columbus Crew SC bolstered their goalkeeping unit for the 2018 season, announcing on Wednesday they have acquired Jon Kempin from the LA Galaxy in exchange for a fourth-round 2018 MLS SuperDraft pick.

Kempin, 24, spent the 2017 season with the Galaxy after beginning his career as a Homegrown signing of Sporting KC, starting seven games in MLS regular season play, making 27 saves and posting two shutouts. His season highlight came in a game against Columbus at MAPFRE Stadium in August, when he made two penalty kick saves in the same game, becoming just the fifth player in MLS history to accomplish that feat.

“Jon is a promising young goalkeeper with proven experience in the League and US Youth National Teams,” said Crew SC sporting director and head coach Gregg Berhalter in a team statement. “He has a good reputation for his work ethic, competitiveness and contributions in the locker room. We are happy to welcome Jon to Columbus and continue his development.”

Kempin will presumably serve as the backup to another young goalkeeper, Zack Steffen, who took on the mantle as Crew SC starter in 2017.

Columbus Crew SC
<strong>ROSTERED PLAYERS (19 of 30 spots filled as of Dec. 13, 2017):</strong>
<p><strong>GK (2):</strong>&nbsp;Jon Kempin, Zack Steffen<br><strong>DEF (7):</strong> Lalas Abubakar (INT'L), Harrison Afful (INT'L), Alex Crognale (HG),&nbsp;Hector Jimenez, Connor Maloney, Jonathan Mensah (DP, INT'L), Josh Williams<br><strong>MID (8):</strong> Mohammed Abu (INT'L), Artur (INT'L), Niko Hansen, Federico Higuain (DP), Cristian Martinez (INT'L), Justin Meram,&nbsp;Pedro Santos (DP, INT'L), Wil Trapp (HG)<br><strong>FWD (2):</strong>&nbsp;Adam Jahn, Ola Kamara (INT'L)</p>
<p><strong>OFFSEASON ACQUISITIONS (2):</strong> Artur (transfer via Sao Paulo), Jon Kempin (trade)<br><strong>OFFSEASON DEPARTURES (10):</strong> Logan Ketterer, Brad Stuver, Waylon Francis (in discussions), Gaston Sauro (in discussions), Marshall Hollingsworth, Kekuta Manneh, Abuchi Obinwa, Jukka Raitala (Expansion Draft), Rodrigo Saravia, Ben Swanson</p>