Club América top Tigres to win second straight CONCACAF Champions League

Club América won their second consecutive CONCACAF Champions League title on Wednesday night, defeating Tigres 2-1 at a nearly full Estadio Azteca to win the series 4-1 on aggregate.

América entered the second leg of the series as heavy favorites to win the title after beating Tigres 2-0 in Monterrey in last week’s first leg. French international Andre-Pierre Gignac gave Tigres a brief glimmer of hope in the 39th minute, when he collected a pass from winger Javier Aquino near the penalty spot and slotted home.

Tigres pushed forward in search of a potential series equalizer, but Michael Arroyo effectively finished things off in the 68th, scoring an impressive solo effort to give América a 3-1 aggregate lead. Osvaldo Martínez really sealed the championship in the 87th, when he buried a penalty to make it 4-1 on aggregate.

US international Ventura Alvarado was an unused substitute for América, while Jose Francisco Torres, having started the first leg, was not in the Tigres squad.

As CCL winners, América will represent CONCACAF at the Club World Cup in Japan in December. They were eliminated by Chinese club Guangzhou in the quarterfinals before beating Congolese club Mazembe for fifth place.