Federico and Gonzalo Higuain become 18th pair of brothers to play together in MLS

Federico Higuain and Gonzalo Higuain - Inter Miami CF

For the first time in MLS history the league has four sets of brothers playing on the same team in the same season.

The latest pair to join the group in 2020 is Federico Higuain and Gonzalo Higuain, who were reunited at Inter Miami CF after last playing together back in their River Plate days. The two were on the field together for the first time on October 14, 2020 when Federico came on for the final three minutes to join Gonzalo, who started the match in a 1-1 draw against Atlanta United.

Earlier in the 2020 season the Chara brothers played together for the first time in nearly a decade. Heading into the 2020 season, the Portland Timbers signed Yimmi Chara, Diego's younger brother, uniting the pair who last played together from 2010-2011 with Deportes Tolima in Colombia.

Joining the Charas and Higuains this season are the Chicago Fire's Gabriel and Nicholas Slonina and Seattle's Cristian and Alex Roldan.

Chris and Sean Henderson were the first brothers to suit up for the same team when they were with the Colorado Rapids from 1996-1998. Chris is currently VP of soccer operations & sporting director for the Sounders.

Perhaps the brothers with the biggest star power together at the time, Gio and Jona dos Santos were both Designated Players for the LA Galaxy from 2017-2018. Alexi and Greg Lalas (MLS Digital's very own!) were both with the New England Revolution in 1997.

Below is the full list of 18 brothers who featured on the same team in MLS history:

Brothers as teammates in MLS history

  • Chris and Sean Henderson: Colorado Rapids (1996-1998)
  • Alexi and Greg Lalas: New England Revolution (1997)
  • Judah and Micah Cooks: D.C. United (2000-2001)
  • DaMarcus and Jamar Beasley: Chicago Fire (2001)
  • Martin and Fausto Klinger: MetroStars (2001)
  • Daouda and Ibrahim Kante: New England Revolution (2003)
  • Brian and Jeff Carroll: D.C. United (2006-07)
  • Jim and Jeff Curtin: Chicago Fire (2007)
  • Chris and Stephen Wondolowski: Houston Dynamo (2008)
  • Gabriel and Michael Farfan: Philadelphia Union (2011-2012)
  • Bradley and Shaun Wright-Phillips: New York Red Bulls (2015)
  • Jose and Jaime Villarreal: LA Galaxy (2017)
  • Giovani and Jonathan dos Santos: LA Galaxy (2017-2018)
  • David and Mathieu Choiniere: Montreal Impact (2018)
  • Cristian and Alex Roldan: Seattle Sounders (2018-2020)
  • Diego and Yimmi Chara: Portland Timbers (2020)
  • Gabriel and Nicholas Slonina: Chicago Fire (2020)
  • Federico and Gonzalo Higuain: Inter Miami CF (2020)