Amway Canadian Championship - Trophy close up

They still have a ways to go to catch up to the nine titles belonging to their rivals Montreal Impact, but Toronto FC inched closer after claiming their fifth Amway Canadian Championship crown in a heart-stopping 2016 final series against the Vancouver Whitecaps

The Reds added to their domestic trophy haul in the most dramatic of fashions in the second leg on June 29, with a last-second, stoppage-time goal by Will Johnson that allowed them to snatch the Voyageurs Cup from the clutches of Vancouver and claim Canada's lone berth to the 2017-18 CONCACAF Champions League group stage.

Similar to the US Open Cup south of the border, the Canadian Championship crowns the national champion of Canada, while also awarding a berth in the CONCACAF Champions League for the following season. The field is made up of five teams with Ottawa Fury and FC Edmonton joining MLS sides Toronto FC, Vancouver Whitecaps and Montreal Impact.

The current version of the tournament has been around since 2008 with Toronto FC taking home the trophy five times and the Impact winning three times. The Whitecaps won their first Voyageurs Cup in 2015, but only after losing in the final five previous times.

From 2002 to 2007, the Cup was awarded to the team that recorded the best record against the other Canadian teams in the league that was known as the USL First Division.

Here's the complete list of the trophy's winners since its inception in 2002:

Canadian Championship Winners

Voyageurs Cup era (2002-2007)

2002:  Montreal Impact
2003:  Montreal Impact
2004:  Montreal Impact
2005:  Montreal Impact
2006:  Montreal Impact
2007:  Montreal Impact

Canadian Championship era (2008-present)

2008:  Montreal Impact
2009:  Toronto FC
2010:  Toronto FC
2011:  Toronto FC
2012:  Toronto FC
2013:  Montreal Impact
2014:  Montreal Impact
2015:  Vancouver Whitecaps FC
2016:  Toronto FC