2017 MLS Western Conference Championship is set: Seattle vs Houston

Playoffs - 2017 - Western Conference Championship generic image

The Audi 2017 MLS Cup Playoffs Conference Championships are set. After four two-leg aggregate-goal series reached their conclusion, Columbus, Houston, Seattle and Toronto have advanced out of their semifinal matchups.

The Seattle Sounders face the Houston Dynamo for the second time in the postseason, with this year's winner advancing to MLS Cup.

Seattle will be hoping to reach MLS Cup as they look to win back-to-back Philip F. Anschutz trophies. The big difference this time will be that they will have Clint Dempsey on the field and healthy, as the former US national team captain missed last year's run due to an irregular heartbeat. Osvaldo Alonso should be available as well while Jordan Morris could make his long-awaited return after sustaining a hamstring injury in September.

The Dynamo return to the Conference Championship round for the first time since 2013, when they were beaten by Sporting Kansas City in the Eastern Conference Championship. That came after reaching two straight MLS Cups in 2011 and 2012, losing to the LA Galaxy both times. Houston have won two MLS Cups as they came in back-to-back years in 2006 and 2007.


  • Seattle 6 wins (19 goals) ... Houston 4 wins (16 goals) ... Draws 6
  • In SEA: Seattle 6 wins (11 goals) ... Houston 0 wins (2 goals) ... Draws 2
  • In HOU: Houston 4 wins (14 goals) ... Seattle 0 wins (8 goals) ... Draws 4

2017 Regular Season Matchups:

Leg 1: Tue, Nov 21 - 9:30 PM ET - at Houston, BBVA Compass Stadium

USA: FS1 & FOX Deportes

Canada: TSN | TVAS

FOX Sports GO
MLS LIVE replay*

Leg 2: Thu, Nov 30 - 10:30 PM ET - at Seattle, CenturyLink Field

USA: ESPN & ESPN Deportes

Canada: TSN | TVAS

MLS LIVE replay*