MLS Supplemental Draft to be held Friday

Major League Soccer today announced the rules and selection order for the 2005 MLS Supplemental Draft to be held via teleconference call from League headquarters on Friday, February 4, 2005 at 12:00 noon ET. The four-round Supplemental Draft comes three weeks after the 2005 MLS SuperDraft presented by adidas at the Baltimore Convention Center, where No. 1 pick Nikolas Besagno of Real Salt Lake topped a list of 48 players selected.

The MLS SuperDraft, which was traditionally a six-round draft, consisted of four rounds in 2005 with what were formerly the Fifth and Sixth Rounds of the SuperDraft becoming the First and Second Rounds of the Supplemental Draft. Similar to the SuperDraft, the Supplemental Draft order is initially determined by reverse order of finish in 2004 with the exception of Real Salt Lake and CD Chivas USA, the League's 2005 expansion teams that will select with the top two selections in each round.

The Supplemental Draft will allow MLS clubs to continue to add to their rosters, which this year have been expanded to incorporate an all-time high 28 players (18 Senior Roster players and 10 Developmental Roster players). The final list of players eligible for the 2005 MLS Supplemental Draft will be released on Wednesday, February 2, 2005 on the League's official web site and that list will include among others, those players eligible for the 2005 MLS SuperDraft ( but not selected on January 14 in Baltimore.

Ahead of Friday's draft, MLS will impose a trade moratorium beginning at 5:00 p.m. ET on Thursday, February 3 through the conclusion of the Supplemental Draft.

What follows are the Supplemental Draft selection order and procedural rules:

1. Real Salt Lake
2. CD Chivas USA
3. Chicago Fire
4. FC Dallas (from DC, FCD)
5. San Jose Earthquakes
6. MetroStars
7. Colorado Rapids
8. Columbus Crew
9. Columbus Crew (from NE)
10. Los Angeles Galaxy
11. Kansas City Wizards
12. D.C. United

13. Real Salt Lake
14. CD Chivas USA
15. Chicago Fire
16. FC Dallas
17. New England Revolution (from SJ)
18. San Jose Earthquakes (from MET)
19. Los Angeles Galaxy (from COL)
20. Columbus Crew
21. New England Revolution
22. Los Angeles Galaxy
23. FC Dallas (from KC)
24. FC Dallas (from DC)

25. Real Salt Lake
26. CD Chivas USA
27. Chicago Fire
28. FC Dallas
29. San Jose Earthquakes
30. MetroStars
31. Colorado Rapids
32. Columbus Crew
33. New England Revolution
34. Los Angeles Galaxy
35. Kansas City Wizards
36. D.C. United

37. Real Salt Lake
38. CD Chivas USA
39. Chicago Fire
40. FC Dallas
41. San Jose Earthquakes
42. MetroStars
43. Colorado Rapids
44. Columbus Crew
45. New England Revolution
46. Los Angeles Galaxy
47. Kansas City Wizards
48. D.C. United


DRAFT ROUNDS: The Supplemental Draft will include four rounds and 48 overall selections.

SELECTION CLOCK: Teams are permitted three (3) minutes to make a selection during each round of the Supplemental Draft.

INTERMISSIONS: There will be a three (3) minute break between each round.

TIMEOUTS: Each team is permitted only one (1) timeout. Timeouts are three (3) minutes in duration. Selections must be made immediately following the timeout. More than two (2) timeouts cannot be utilized consecutively.

FAILURE TO MAKE SELECTION IN DESIGNATED TIME: Teams that fail to make their selection in time must wait until the next selection is made, regardless of whether their choice is presented prior to the next team's decision. The team that was delinquent with its selection must immediately have its choice in hand following the selection of the team that follows. If not, the original team must again wait for the following selection to be made.

Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.