Spain defeats US in final of four-team international FIFA 20 tournament

US Soccer eSeries One graphic

Spain defeated the US to capture the inaugural U.S. Soccer eSeries One title Saturday night, concluding the four-team international EA Sports FIFA 20 tournament that began June 3.

Spain earned a measure of revenge after the US struck for a pair of late goals to win 8-6 and hand La Furia Roja their first eSeries One defeat.

Men’s, women’s and e-national team players from the finalists, as well as Brazil and Mexico, competed in the round-robin style tournament. Players from each national team faced their counterparts, and the three scores were aggregated to determine the winner of the match.

The US, featuring NYCFC and USMNT goalkeeper Sean Johnson, USWNT midfielder Allie Long and back-to-back eMLS League Series champion Fiddle of FC Cincinnati, and Spain, represented by Real Madrid defender Dani Carvajal, women's international forward Sheila Garcia and FIFA pro JRA, went through on goal differential.

In the final, JRA defeated Fiddle, 3-1, Carvajal knocked off Johnson, 7-3 and the undefeated Long and Garcia battled to a 2-2 draw, leading to Spain’s 12-6 aggregate win.