Christian Ramirez steps up to take penalty kick, but referee orders him off the field

Houston Dynamo forward Christian Ramirez was hoping to score his first goal in six games when he stepped up to take a penalty kick awarded by referee Ismail Elfath in the Week 16 Texas Derby against FC Dallas.

But as Ramirez waited to take the penalty, he was surprised by referee Ismail Elfath, who informed him he could not take it.

Turns out that since Ramirez required on-field medical treatment after the play that led to the penalty, he was required to leave the field. An exception would have been made had Ramirez been the player to suffer the foul that caused the penalty.

Darwin Ceren stepped up to replace Ramirez at the spot. The Dynamo won the match 2-0.

Topics: 

MLS Unites to VOTE

Join Major League Soccer, Black Players for Change, and the MLS Players Association in participating in the November 3 general election. In-person early voting has started in 45 states. Make a plan to vote.