Atlanta United vs. LA Galaxy | 2019 MLS Match Preview

2019 MLS Regular Season Week 22
Atlanta United vs. LA Galaxy
Mercedes-Benz Stadium - Atlanta
August 3 - 5:00 PM ET



Atlanta United and LA Galaxy look to rebound from Week 20 defeats when they open Week 21 with a star-studded showdown at Mercedes-Benz Stadium Saturday afternoon.

Atlanta United (11-9-3) struck early, but conceded four times in a 12-minute span late in the first half en route to a 4-3 loss to LAFC last Friday at Banc of California Stadium. Mo Adams scored his first MLS goal just two minutes after kickoff and Josef Martinez struck in first-half stoppage time, but the Five Stripes went into the halftime break trailing 4-2. An Eddie Segura own goal in the 51st minute pulled Atlanta within a goal, but that was as close as they'd get.

The Galaxy (12-9-1) also conceded four goals, but without reply in a 4-0 loss to the Portland Timbers last Saturday at Providence Park. Cristhian Paredes struck for a brace and Diego Valeri and Jeremy Ebobisse both scored late in each half. The Galaxy ended with 10 men after Efrain Alvarez was sent off in the 84th minute. 

Atlanta vs. LA Galaxy

Saturday, August 3 at 5:00 PM ET
Mercedes-Benz Stadium

LA Galaxy

Atlanta United

Project Starting XI
  • Injury Report:
    • OUT: Kevin Kratz (M) - quad injury
    • OUT: Brek Shea (D) - knee injury
  • Suspended: Leandro Gonzalez-Pirez (D)
  • Suspended after next caution:  Mo Adams (M)
  • International duty:  None

LA Galaxy

Project Starting XI
  • Injury Report:
    • OUT: Romain Alessandrini (M) - knee surgery
    • QUESTIONABLE: Chris Pontius (M) - hamstring injury
    • QUESTIONABLE: Juninho (M) - muscle injury
  • Suspended: Zlatan Ibrahimovic (F), Efrain Alvarez (M), Diego Polenta (D)
  • Suspended after next caution: Diego Polenta (D), Favio Alvarez (M)
  • International duty:  None

Series Matchup at Atlanta

  • Atlanta: 1 win, 4 goals
  • Galaxy: 0 wins, 0 goals
  • 0 draws


  • Referee: Drew Fischer
  • Assistant Referees: Jeremy Hanson, Philippe Briere
  • 4th Official: Kevin Broadley
  • VAR: Jose Carlos Rivero