2018 Awards - Comeback Player of the Year - Gyasi Zardes

Columbus Crew SC forward Gyasi Zardes named MLS Comeback Player of the Year

In first campaign with Crew SC, U.S. MNT striker nets career-high 19 goals
NEW YORK (Wednesday, Nov. 7, 2018) – Major League Soccer announced today that after his breakout regular season, Columbus Crew SC forward Gyasi Zardes has been named the 2018 MLS Comeback Player of the Year.
The 27-year-old Hawthorne, Calif. native was traded to Crew SC in the offseason before posting his strongest campaign yet, including a career-high 19 goals. He capped off the regular season with his first career hat trick on MLS Decision Day presented by AT&T to carry momentum into the Audi MLS Cup Playoffs.
  • Video soundbytes from Gyasi Zardes are available HERE
Under the guidance of Columbus sporting director and head coach Gregg Berhalter, Zardes has thrived all season within the club’s lone-striker formation. Zardes also eclipsed the regular season 50-goal career milestone (53), and in the process rewarded Columbus with the third-highest, single-season goalscoring output in club history. He set personal bests in minutes (2,948) and games played/started (33).
The turnaround season came just one year after posting two goals with the LA Galaxy in 2017 – a year in which he also had multiple injuries in club and international play.
Zardes’ elevated MLS play led to a well-deserved return to the U.S. Men’s National Team camp in September – his first camp since January.
The award was voted on by MLS club technical staff, media and current MLS players. Below is a breakdown of the voting results:
Comeback Player of the Year
Player Vote %
Club Vote %
Media Vote %
Average %
Gyasi Zardes (CLB)
Zlatan Ibrahimović (LA)
Osvaldo Alonso (SEA)
Djordje Mihailovic (CHI)
Jonathan Osorio (TOR)
MLS Comeback Player of the Year Winners:
2018: Gyasi Zardes – Columbus Crew SC
2017: Clint Dempsey – Seattle Sounders FC
2016: Chris Pontius – Philadelphia Union
2015: Tim Melia – Sporting Kansas City
2014: Rodney Wallace – Portland Timbers
2013: Kevin Alston – New England Revolution
2012: Eddie Johnson – Seattle Sounders FC
2011: David Beckham – LA Galaxy
2010: Bobby Convey – San Jose Earthquakes
2009: Zach Thornton – Chivas USA
2008: Kenny Cooper – FC Dallas
2007: Eddie Johnson – Kansas City Wizards
2006: Richard Mulrooney – FC Dallas
2005: Chris Klein – Kansas City Wizards
2004: Brian Ching – San Jose Earthquakes
2003: Chris Armas – Chicago Fire
2002: Chris Klein – Kansas City Wizards
2001: Troy Dayak – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards

LIVE YOUR COLORS: Download the free MLS app - The official MLS app gets a major update for 2019, making it easier than ever to keep up with your favorite club, check standings, watch videos and much more.