"Hand of God" move results in red card for Portland Timbers' Lawrence Olum

When Diego Maradona scored an iconic goal using the so-called "Hand of God" in the 1986 World Cup for Argentina, it was not spotted by the referee, despite being completely illegal.

No such luck for Portland Timbers midfielder Lawrence Olum on Saturday, as he attempted a similar play, in a 1-1 draw against FC Dallas at Toyota Stadium.

Olum's handball was spotted by referee Mark Geiger, and he was duly given his marching orders in the 75th minute after getting a second yellow card with the play. You can watch the play in the video above.