2017 Gold Cup Infographic - update 7.10

Record 51 MLS players to represent their countries at 2017 Gold Cup

MLS Communications – (646) 682-5206
Record 51 MLS players to represent their countries at 2017 Gold Cup
NEW YORK (June 30, 2017) – Fifty-one players from Major League Soccer are set to participate in the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup after officially receiving a call up to final 23-man rosters, the most of any professional league worldwide. In total, Major League Soccer will see players representing nine of the 12 participating nations in the tournament, with 18 MLS teams seeing at least one of its players called up.
The United States led all nations with 17 MLS players called into action, including five Homegrown Players. Canada ranked second with nine MLS players called onto its national team, six of whom came up through MLS academies. An additional 31 MLS players were named to preliminary 40-man rosters and are eligible to be called as one of six replacement players per team allowed by CONCACAF prior to the quarterfinal round of the tournament.
A trio of reigning MLS award winners will participate in the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup including 2016 MLS Rookie of the Year Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC/United States), 2016 MLS Defender of the Year Matt Hedges (FC Dallas/United States) and 2016 Goalkeeper of the Year Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union/Jamaica).
The tournament will visit seven MLS cities and five U.S. cities that have submitted official applications for the League’s next round of expansion. MLS will add four expansion teams in the coming years, growing to 28 clubs. The Gold Cup begins on Friday, July 7 with a doubleheader at Red Bull Arena featuring French Guiana against Canada (7 p.m. ET, FS2/UDN) and Honduras taking on Costa Rica (9 p.m. ET, FS2/UniMas).
To download the infographic, please click here.
MLS Players on Gold Cup Rosters by Country
Canada (9)
Patrice Bernier (Montreal Impact)
Maxime Crepeau (Montreal Impact)
Alphonso Davies (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)
Raheem Edwards (Toronto FC)
Marcel de Jong (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)
Anthony Jackson-Hamel (Montreal Impact)
Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC)
Tosaint Ricketts (Toronto FC)
Russell Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)
Costa Rica (5)
Francisco Calvo (Minnesota United FC)
David Guzman (Portland Timbers)
Marco Ureña (San Jose Earthquakes)
Johan Venegas (Minnesota United FC)
Rodney Wallace (New York City FC)
El Salvador (1)
Darwin Ceren (San Jose Earthquakes)
Honduras (4)
Alberth Elis (Houston Dynamo)
Maynor Figueroa (FC Dallas)
Boniek Garcia (Houston Dynamo)
Romell Quioto (Houston Dynamo)
Jamaica (9)
Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)
Oniel Fisher (Seattle Sounders FC)
Shaun Francis (San Jose Earthquakes)
Kemar Lawrence (New York Red Bulls)
Darren Mattocks (Portland Timbers)
Alvas Powell (Portland Timbers)
Jermaine Taylor (Minnesota United FC)
Je-Vaughn Watson (New England Revolution)
Romario Williams (Atlanta United) *on loan at Charleston Battery
Martinique (1)
Jordy Delem (Seattle Sounders FC)
Mexico (1)
Erick Torres (Houston Dynamo)
Panama (4)
Miguel Camargo (New York City FC)
Armando Cooper (Toronto FC)
Anibal Godoy (San Jose Earthquakes)
Michael Amir Murillo (New York Red Bulls)
United States (17)
Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas)
Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution)
Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union)
Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City)
Dom Dwyer (Sporting Kansas City)
Brad Guzan (Atlanta United)
Bill Hamid (D.C. United)
Matt Hedges (FC Dallas)
Sean Johnson (New York City FC)
Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire)
Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC)
Justin Morrow (Toronto FC)
Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union)
Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC)
Kelyn Rowe (New England Revolution)
Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)
Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)