Seattle Sounders - 2016 MLS Cup - team photo - champions banner
USA Today Sports

Seattle Sounders become 11th team in league history to win MLS Cup

The Seattle Sounders joined the list of MLS champions on Saturday night, winning their first MLS Cup by defeating Toronto FC 5-4 in penalties following a scoreless 120 minutes at BMO Field.

The Sounders, who entered MLS in 2009, are the 11th team in the league's 21-year history to win an MLS Cup title. The LA Galaxy have won five titles, the most in MLS Cup history, with D.C. United one behind them with four MLS Cup wins. Three other teams have two MLS Cup wins, while six clubs, including the Sounders, have lifted the trophy once.

All-time MLS Cup winners: 

Team MLS Cup wins Years won
LA Galaxy 5 2002, 2005, 2011, 2012, 2014
D.C. United 4 1996, 1997, 1999, 2004 
Houston Dynamo 2 2006, 2007
San Jose Earthquakes 2 2001, 2003
Sporting Kansas City 2 2000, 2013
Chicago Fire 1 1998
Colorado Rapids 1 2010
Columbus Crew SC 1 2008
Portland Timbers 1 2015
Real Salt Lake 1 2009
Seattle Sounders 1 2016

Stay connected: The all-new, completely redesigned, FREE official MLS app is your best mobile source for scores, news, analysis and highlights. Download:  App Store  |  Google Play