US Open Cup: Matchups set for Round of 16, first season with fixed bracket

The bracket for the final four rounds of the 2015 Lamar Hunt US Open Cup was determined on Thursday in a draw conducted by U.S. Soccer in its Chicago office and streamed live (see above).

The 16 remaining teams, including 14 MLS squads, were split into four regions - East, Central, South, West - based on geography.

Teams were then drawn into Round of 16 games within each region, with region winners paired together for the semifinals. While hosting scenarios for the final will be announced after the quarterfinals, this is the first time in modern history that the Open Cup has used any sort of fixed bracket.

Round of 16
June 30:
Philadelphia Union vs. D.C. United (East), 7:30 pm ET
Chicago Fire vs. Charlotte Independence (South), 8:30 pm ET
Orlando City vs. Columbus Crew SC (South), 7:30 pm ET
Houston Dynamo vs. Colorado Rapids (Central), 9 pm ET

July 1:
New York Red Bulls vs. New York Cosmos (East), 7:30 pm ET
Sporting Kansas City vs. FC Dallas (Central), 8:30 pm ET
Real Salt Lake vs. Portland Timbers (West), 10 pm ET
San Jose Earthquakes vs. LA Galaxy (West), 10:30 pm ET

Quarterfinals (July 21-22)
East final (Red Bulls/Cosmos winner to host)
South final (Chicago/Charlotte winner to host)
Central final (Sporting KC/FC Dallas winner to host)
West final (RSL/Portland winner to host)

Semifinals (Aug. 11-12)
East vs. South
Central vs. West

Final (Sept. 29 or 30)
Semifinal winners