Latino del Año 2014 | VOTA AHORA

Voting is now open for's 2014 Latino del Año presented by U.S. Army

NEW YORK – Ready, set, VOTE!

The time has finally come for MLS fans to vote for the best Latino player of the 2014 season. Voting is now officially open for’s 2014 Latino del Año presented by U.S. Army.

Last week, unveiled each of the eight groups, including 32 players from 14 nationalities and representing 14 MLS clubs.

Among the nominees for Latino del Año 2014 are Mexican national team sensation Erick “Cubo” Torres, Portland Timbers' Argentine playmaker Diego Valeri and FC Dallas' Colombian forward Fabián Castillo. Fans will be able to vote for plenty of players who have made their careers in MLS, and some who have just begun calling the league their home this year. and editors ranked the 32 best Latino Players throughout the 2014 MLS regular season, based on the following criteria:

  • Performance during the 2014 MLS regular season
  • Impact generated for his team
  • Number of times the player won/was nominated for Latino de la Jornada
  • Official games he played with his club

After nominations were in, editors ranked each player, with the first eight players claiming the top seed in each group.

During the group stage, the two players who receive the highest amount of points in each group will advance to the Round of 16, and will be paired up as follows:

  • S1: A1 vs. B2
  • S2: B1 vs A2
  • S3: C1 vs D2
  • S4: D1 vs C2
  • S5: E1 vs. F2
  • S6: F1 vs. E2
  • S7: G1 vs H2
  • S8: H1 vs G2

Don't miss's infographic with all the information about this year's nominees, as well as a bracket that you can download to predict your Latino del Año winner.

Created in 2010, Latino del Año is's annual contest to select the best Latin American player in MLS based on fan voting. The contest is held at the end of each MLS regular season, consisting of three weeks of voting by fans who determine which players advance to each round until a winner is chosen. In 2010, former Seattle Sounders Colombian striker Fredy Montero was crowned the winner. Former Sporting Kansas City Mexican forward Omar Bravo was the winner in 2011, while Honduran Boniek García won the 2012 contest.  In 2013, Real Salt Lake striker Alvaro Saborio was crowned as the winner.

2014 Latino del Año Schedule
October 27-30 – Latino del Año groups announced
November 3 – Online voting process opens for group stage
November 6 – Group stage winners announced, online voting opens for Round of 16
November 10– Round of 16 winners announced, online voting opens for quarterfinals
November 13 – Quarterfinal winners announced, online voting opens for final
November 17 – 2014 Latino del Año winner announced