Spain's Xavi with Andres Iniesta in the background
Action Photos

World Cup: Spain name 18 vets of 2010 World Cup triumph to provisional squad for Brazil

Defending World Cup champions Spain released their provisional squad list on Tuesday, including 18 returning players from the 2010 title run in South Africa.

The list is led by veteran Barcelona midfielders Xavi and Andres Iniesta, the goalscorer in the 2010 final. The newcomers include, most notably, Atletico Madrid stars Koke and Diego Costa, who was actually born in Brazil, and the only surprising name on the list, Athletic Bilbao midfielder Ander Iturraspe, who is yet uncapped at the senior level.

The only somewhat remarkable snub is Real Madrid defender Alvaro Arbeloa, who featured in both of la Furia Roja's Euro championship campaigns and the 201 World Cup. 

Spain are in Group B in Brazil, along with the Netherlands, Chile, and Australia. They open play against the Netherlands -- the nation the defeated in the 2010 final -- on June 13 in Salvador.

Complete Spain squad:


Iker Casillas (Real Madrid - Spain/32yrs)
Pepe Reina (Napoli - Italy/31yrs)
David de Gea (Manchester United - England/23yrs)


Juanfran (Atletico Madrid - Spain/29yrs)
Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea - England/24yrs)
Jordi Alba (Barcelona - Spain/25yrs)
Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid - Spain/28yrs)
Gerard Pique (Barcelona - Spain/27yrs)
Raul Albiol (Napoli - Italy/28yrs)
Javi Martinez (Bayern Munich - Germany/25yrs)
Alberto Moreno (Sevilla - Spain/21yrs)
Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid - Spain/22yrs)


Sergio Busquets (Barcelona - Spain/25yrs)
Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid - Spain/32yrs)
Xavi (Barcelona - Spain/34yrs)
Koke (Atletico Madrid - Spain/22yrs)
Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich - Germany/23yrs)
Jesus Navas (Manchester City - England/28yrs)
David Silva (Manchester City - England/28yrs)
Andres Iniesta (Barcelona - Spain/30yrs)
Santi Cazorla (Arsenal - England/29yrs)
Ander Iturraspe (Athletic Bilbao - Spain/25yrs)
Juan Mata (Manchester United - England/26yrs)
Cesc Fabregas (Barcelona - Spain/27yrs)


Pedro Rodriguez (Barcelona - Spain/26yrs)
Alvaro Negredo (Manchester City - England/28yrs)
Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid - Spain/25yrs)
David Villa (Atletico Madrid - Spain/32yrs)
Fernando Torres (Chelsea - England/30yrs)
Fernando Llorente (Juventus - Italy/29yrs)