The logos of Atlanta's pro soccer history – what might city's new MLS look be? | SIDELINE

The city of Atlanta was announced as Major League Soccer 22nd team on Wednesday, a move that will see the Southeast's presence within MLS strengthen significantly when the club makes its league debut in 2017.

With no logo unveiled on the day, we take a look back at some of the city's pro soccer teams from the past and ponder: "What might Atlanta's MLS franchise look like?"

Atlanta Chiefs (NPSL/NASL) - 1967-1973, 1979-1981


Atlanta Apollos (NASL - Chiefs, under new ownership) - 1973

Atlanta Attack (NPSL) - 1989-1991

Atlanta Ruckus (A-League) - 1995-1998

Atlanta Beat (WPS) - 2009-2011

Atlanta Silverbacks (NASL) - 1999-present