Tony Beltran, US national team

World Cup: Jurgen Klinsmann adds Tony Beltran to USMNT roster vs. Mexico for injured Brad Evans

With three days to go until the US national team's friendly vs. Mexico, Jurgen Klinsmann is still fine-tuning his roster. On Sunday, the USMNT head coach added Real Salt Lake right back Tony Beltran in place of Brad Evans, who is still recovering from a calf injury he suffered earlier this month.

Beltran (above) has two caps for the USMNT – both in 2013 – and was part of the squad that won the CONCACAF Gold Cup title last year. The 26-year-old was named an MLS All-Star for the first time in 2013 as well.

Klinsmann was in attendance for Real Salt Lake's 3-0 win over Toronto FC on Saturday, according to US Soccer, and informed Beltran following the match. He'll join RSL teammates Kyle Beckerman, Nick Rimando and Luis Gil on the plane to Phoenix for Wednesday's game.

Evans, meanwhile, will miss his Arizona homecoming. The Sounders midfielder hasn't appeared since leaving Seattle's 2-1 loss to Toronto on March 15 in the 29th minute with a calf injury. He started eight games at right back for the national team in 2013.

The US squad begins gathering Sunday in advance of the Mexico game (Wednesday, 11 pm ET, ESPN, UniMas). The friendly at University of Phoenix Stadium is the team's final match before Klinsmann names his squad for this summer's World Cup.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (8): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla/Mexico), Tony Beltran (Real Salt Lake), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Michael Orozco (Puebla/Mexico), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Luis Gil (Real Salt Lake), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (4): Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Julian Green (Bayern Munich/Germany), Eddie Johnson (D.C. United), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)