Philadelphia Union, 2012 SUM Cup champions

FC Dallas' Toyota Stadium to host 2014 Generation adidas Under-17 Cup starting April 14

Major League Soccer on Tuesday unveiled details of the final stage of the 2013-14 Generation adidas Under-17 Cup, which kicks off on April 14 at the Frisco, Texas, soccer complex Toyota Soccer Center.

The championship match is set for Sunday, April 20, at Toyota Stadium, home of MLS side FC Dallas.

The competition kicked off back in August 2013 with qualifying regional tournaments (East, Central and West) featuring Under-17 teams from all 19 MLS clubs. The top three teams in each region advanced to the "International Tier" of the Generation adidas Under-17 Cup finals.

The "International Tier" participants are grouped as follows:

Group A: New York Red Bulls, Colorado Rapids, Seattle Sounders, Flamengo (Brazil)

Group B: Real Salt Lake, Toronto FC, LA Galaxy, Stoke City (England)

Group C: San Jose Earthquakes, FC Dallas, Philadelphia Union, Chivas Guadalajara (Mexico)

The other MLS Under-17 teams that didn't qualify for the "International Tier," will do battle in the "National Tier" in Frisco: Chicago Fire, Chivas USA, Columbus Crew, D.C. United, Houston Dynamo, Sporting Kansas City, Montreal Impact and Portland Timbers.

New England Revolution and Vancouver Whitecaps FC elected not to participate in the finals, according to the league release.

The Generation adidas Under-17 Cup was formerly known as the SUM Cup and crowned its first champion back in 2007. The tournament format was changed in 2013 with matches scheduled across two calendar years, starting out with regional qualifying.


2013-14: ???

2012: Philadelphia Union

2011: LA Galaxy

2010: D.C. United

2009: D.C. United

2008: Real Salt Lake

2007: D.C. United


Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.