How the 2013 MLS Cup Playoff coaches match up, based on their career playoff wins

It's hard to remember a year as filled with green coaches as this year. Five of the 10 coaches who guided their clubs to the 2013 MLS Cup Playoffs have never won a playoff game.

In fact, not one of them has ever coached a playoff game in MLS.

It makes for a striking contrast when you compare the young guns, including Coach of the Year candidates Mike Petke (New York Red Bulls) and Caleb Porter (Portland Timbers), to their more experienced counterparts, particularly old warhorses, LA Galaxy's Bruce Arena and Seattle Sounders' Sigi Schmid.

(NOTE: This does not take into account games decided by penalties, which are statistically considered to be draws.)

So can we predict anything from all of this? Probably not. After all, those five rookies need to start playing playoff games before they can start racking up playoff wins.

And, remember, back in 1996, when he won the first of his four MLS Cup titles, Arena himself was a rookie.

MLS All-Stars vs. Real Madrid is August 2. Limited tickets left!

Time is running out for your chance to see European champions Real Madrid face the best of MLS. Get your tickets to the 2017 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target.

More about All-Star  |  Event schedule