Budweiser Golden Boot: Camilo does it! Vancouver star scores hat trick to top Chicago's Mike Magee


Vancouver Whitecaps forward Camilo Sanvezzo fired home a hat trick on Sunday to leapfrog the Chicago Fire's Mike Magee and the Montreal Impact's Marco Di Vaio and win the 2013 Budweiser Golden Boot

Entering Sunday's match with the Colorado Rapids, Camilo had 19 goals to his name and knew he needed to score to have any chance at the Boot. After Magee scored his 21st goal of the season in the Fire's loss to the New York Red Bulls earlier in the day, Camilo knew he needed to score twice. 

He scored three.

The hat trick came in different ways. In the 44th minute, he converted a penalty kick. In teh 74th, he pulled off a dazzling dribbling display before passing the ball past the goalkeeper for his second. And finally, in the 85th minute, he ran onto a ball over the top and fired a volley into the lower corner in the 85th minute for his third goal of the night and 22nd of the season.

This was Camilo's first MLS hat trick, and he had five two-goal games this season. His 38 career MLS goals makes him Vancouver’s all-time leader.

The Montreal Impact's Marco Di Vaio, who hit 20 goals on the season, finished in 3rd place in the Boot standings.


2013:    22 goals – Camilo Sanvezzo (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)
2012:    27 goals – Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)
2011:    16 goals – Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United)
2010:    18 goals – Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)
2009:    17 goals – Jeff Cunningham (FC Dallas)
2008:    20 goals – Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy)
2007:    20 goals – Luciano Emilio (D.C. United)
2006:    16 goals – Jeff Cunningham (Real Salt Lake)
2005:    17 goals – Taylor Twellman (New England Revolution)
2004:    12 goals – Eddie Johnson (Dallas Burn); Brian Ching (San Jose Earthquakes)
2003:    15 goals – Carlos Ruiz (Los Angeles Galaxy); Taylor Twellman (New England Revolution)
2002:    24 goals – Carlos Ruiz (Los Angeles Galaxy)
2001:    19 goals – Alex Pineda Chacon (Miami Fusion)
2000:    26 goals – Mamadou Diallo (Tampa Bay Mutiny)
1999:    18 goals – Stern John (Columbus Crew); Roy Lassiter (D.C. United); Jason Kreis (Dallas Burn)
1998:    26 goals – Stern John (Columbus Crew)
1997:    16 goals – Jaime Moreno (D.C. United)
1996:    27 goals – Roy Lassiter (Tampa Bay Mutiny)

Stay connected: The official MLS app keeps you connected with the latest news, highlights, scores, standings, and analysis all for FREE. Download for iOS (Apple) or Download for Android