FIFA World Cup TV rights
Getty Images

US Soccer Federation discussing potential bids for FIFA World Cup tournaments

On Wednesday, FIFA opened the bidding for the hosting of five of its world championship tournaments scheduled for 2016 and 2017.

The FIFA Under-20 World Cups for men (2017) and women (2016), the FIFA Under-17 World Cup for men (2017) and women (2016) as well as the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup in 2017 are all up for grabs.

And U.S. Soccer, which has never hosted any of the tournaments up for bid, could also be in the running.

"We are still discussing the possibility of putting together a bid to host one of these tournaments," a U.S. Soccer spokesperson told "At this time, we have not made a final decision."

FIFA members have until May 15 to submit a declaration of interest and that must be followed up with a hosting agreement by November 15. 

The final decision on hosts for all five FIFA tournaments will be made in December 2013 at the FIFA Executive Committee meeting.

While the US men have never won the Under-17, Under-20 or Beach Soccer World Cups, the US women have captured the Under-20 World Cup three times (2002, '08, '12) despite missing out in the Under-17 category.


Men's Under-20 World Cup (18 editions): Portugal (1991), Argentina (2001)

Women's Under-20 World Cup (6 editions): Germany (2010)

Men's Under-17 World Cup (14 editions): NONE

Women's Under-17 World Cup (3 editions): NONE

Men's Beach Soccer World Cup (6 editions): Brazil (2006, 2007)

Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.