Jurgen Klinsmann
Getty Images

Klinsmann reveals 25-man roster for USMNT January camp

US men's national team manager Jurgen Klinsmann on Sunday named a 25-man squad for the annual January camp that kicks off on Monday, January 7 at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif.

The roster is an MLS-heavy one with 21 players who play in the top-flight US league with 12 of 19 MLS clubs represented. Alfredo Morales (Hertha Berlin), Alejandro Bedoya (out of contract), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg) and Joshua Gatt (Molde) were the non-MLS call-ups.

The training camp culminates with a January 29 friendly against Canada in the USMNT's first-ever match at Houston's BBVA Compass Stadium (9 pm ET).

Klinsmann called up three players who call BBVA Compass Stadium home. Houston Dynamo forward Bruin, goalkeeper Hall and captain Brad Davis all made the January cut. The Dynamo, Earthquakes and Sporting Kansas City each have three representatives in the squad.

Eight players on the roster are yet to earn their first USMNT cap: Steven Beitashour (San Jose Earthquakes), Tony Beltran (Real Salt Lake), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Connor Lade (New York Red Bulls), Justin Morrow (San Jose Earthquakes), Bruin, Hall and Morales.

Forward Juan Agudelo and midfielder Graham Zusi will presumably miss the first week of US camp after it was revealed that both will be training with English Premier League side West Ham.

The USA's first 2014 World Cup qualifier in the CONCACAF Hexagonal phase follows just a few days after the Canada friendly when Klinsmann's squad travels to face Honduras on February 6 (4 pm ET).

"There's a good chance of six, seven, eight guys out of this group making it to the Honduras game," Klinsmann told Fox Soccer.

USMNT 2013 January Camp Roster

Goalkeepers (3): Tally Hall (Houston Dynamo), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire)

Defenders (9): Steven Beitashour (San Jose Earthquakes), Tony Beltran (Real Salt Lake), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), A.J. DeLaGarza (LA Galaxy), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Connor Lade (New York Red Bulls), Alfredo Morales (Hertha Berlin/Germany), Justin Morrow (San Jose Earthquakes), Jeff Parke (Philadelphia Union)

Midfielders (8): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (out of contract), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg/Norway), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Joshua Gatt (Molde/Norway), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards (5): Juan Agudelo (Chivas USA), Will Bruin (Houston Dynamo), Edson Buddle (Colorado Rapids), Eddie Johnson (Seattle Sounders), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)