Chris Wondolowski
Getty Images

Klinsmann announces USMNT's World Cup qual. squad

Five MLSers have been named to United States national team coach Jurgen Klinsmann’s 23-man roster for the upcoming “five-match tournament,” which includes three friendlies and two World Cup qualifiers.

The first friendly is Saturday against Scotland in Jacksonville, Fla. (8 pm ET, NBC Sports Network, live chat on

The five MLS players are Nick Rimando (RSL), Geoff Cameron (Houston), Kyle Beckerman (RSL), Landon Donovan (LA) and Chris Wondolowski (San Jose).

Four players originally called into this week’s camp were released back to their clubs, including Chivas USA’s Juan Agudelo, Sporting KC’s Graham Zusi, and young Germany-based players Danny Williams and Alfredo Morales. Agudelo and Zusi should be available for their clubs this weekend; on Satuday, Chivas USA host the Seattle Sounders and Sporting KC welcome the San Jose Earthquakes.

Following the Scotland friendly, the USMNT will then host Brazil at FedEx Field outside of Washington, D.C., on May 30 and travel to face Canada on June 3 at BMO Field in Toronto.

Klinsmann will then lead the side into the first games that count of his US managerial career. The US' 2014 World Cup qualification begins with a home match against Antigua and Barbuda on Friday, June 8, in Tampa, followed by a trip to Guatemala on Tuesday, June 12.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (7): Carlos Bocanegra (Rangers), Geoff Cameron (Houston Dynamo), Edgar Castillo (Club Tijuana), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover 96), Clarence Goodson (Brondby), Oguchi Onyewu (Sporting CP), Michael Parkhurst (Nordsjaelland)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Chievo Verona), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Maurice Edu (Rangers), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Jermaine Jones (Schalke 04), Jose Torres (Pachuca)

FORWARDS (6): Jozy Altidore (AZ Alkmaar), Terrence Boyd (Borussia Dortmund), Clint Dempsey (Fulham), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Herculez Gomez (Santos Laguna), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)