Goal of the Year - Darlington Nagbe - Nov 16, 2011

Timbers' Darlington Nagbe wins AT&T Goal of the Year

Portland's Darlington Nagbe came into MLS with a bigger reputation as a creator than a goal-scorer. But the lasting image from the Liberian's rookie campaign turned out to be a juggling wonder-strike for the ages, good enough to claim the title of the 20111 AT&T Goal of the Year.

Nagbe scored the golazo in the 45th minute of what was eventually a 2-1 home loss to Sporting KC in Week 16.

Player % of fan vote
Darlington Nagbe (POR) 42
Eric Hassli (VAN) 31
Fredy Montero (SEA) 23
Davide Chiumiento (VAN) 4

The goal came after Nagbe, stationed at the top of the penalty area, controlled a punched clearance from KC 'keeper Jimmy Nielsen with two juggles, then laced a laser-beam to the upper 90 as he was closed down by the Sporting defense. Between Jack Jewsbury's free kick, Nielsen's punch and — eventually — Nagbe's shot, the ball never touched the turf.

In all, the goal garnered 42 percent of the vote via text-message and online ballot, comfortably out-distancing Vancouver forward Eric Hassli's Week 13 golazo from an impossible angle against Seattle (31 percent). Fredy Montero's fancy footwork in Week 28 against the 'Caps took third place (23 percent), while Davide Chiumiento's spinning volley in Week 26 against New York came in a distant fourth (4 percent).

Nagbe is just the second rookie to win the AT&T Goal of the Year, following in the footsteps of Chicago's Damani Ralph. Ralph received the award in 2003 for a spinning touch and volley against the Columbus Crew.

All-time MLS Goal of the Year Winners

2011: Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers vs. Sporting KC – July 2, 2011

2010: Marco Pappa – Chicago Fire vs. San Jose Earthquakes – April 10, 2010

2009: Landon Donovan – LA Galaxy vs. New England Revolution – August 8, 2009

2008: Will Johnson – Real Salt Lake vs. FC Dallas – October 18, 2008

2007: Cuauhtémoc Blanco – Chicago Fire vs. Real Salt Lake – August 18, 2007

2006: Brian Ching – Houston Dynamo vs. D.C. United – September 30, 2006

2005: Dwayne De Rosario – San Jose Earthquakes at LA Galaxy – October 15, 2005

2004: Dwayne De Rosario – San Jose Earthquakes vs. D.C. United – August 2, 2004

2003: Damani Ralph – Chicago Fire at Columbus Crew – August 13, 2003

2002: Carlos Ruiz – LA Galaxy vs. Columbus Crew – July 27, 2002

2001: Clint Mathis – MetroStars vs. Dallas Burn – April 28, 2001

2000: Marcelo Balboa – Colorado Rapids at Columbus Crew – April 22, 2000

1999: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United at Miami Fusion – May 22, 1999

1998: Brian McBride – Columbus Crew vs. Chicago Fire – July 9, 1998

1997: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United vs. New England Revolution – August 27, 1997

1996: Eric Wynalda – San Jose Earthquakes vs. D.C. United – April 6, 1996

Stay connected: The all-new, completely redesigned, FREE official MLS app is your best mobile source for scores, news, analysis and highlights. Download:  App Store  |  Google Play