FC Dallas defeated Tigres in a PK shootout to win the Rio Grande Plate.
Erik Davila/FC Dallas

FCD top Mexico's Tigres in PKs, claim Rio Grande Plate

FRISCO, Texas — FC Dallas dug themselves out of a 3-1 aggregate-goals deficit and Jeremy Hall sunk the game-winning PK in the shootout as the MLS club defeated Mexico’s Tigres UANL 6-5 in penalties to take home the renewed Rio Grande Plate on Saturday night at Pizza Hut Park.

After both teams scored each their first five penalties, Tigres’ Francisco Acuña struck the crossbar in the sixth round to open the door for Hall to score the winner. This was the third time in the competition’s history that the winner was decided by penalties.

Jackson scored the series-equalizing goal for FC Dallas just after halftime and after the home side foiled various Tigres attempts.

Following a three-year hiatus of the friendly competition, 2011’s home-and-away series marked the fourth time the two sides had met in the Rio Grande Plate dating back to 2006.

FC Dallas head coach Schellas Hyndman used only two regulars in his starting lineup – central defenders George John and Andrew Jacobson – opting to go with a large contingent of reserves, including Home Growns Victor Ulloa, Bryan Leyva, Moises Hernandez and Ruben Luna.

In front of a largely pro-Tigres side, Brazilian-born Tigres coach Ricardo Ferretti started American Jonathan Bornstein at left back as well as Acuña, who scored the game-winner in Tigres 2-1 first leg win in Monterrey.

Tigres went on the attack from the get go, receiving seven first half corners in the process. Forward Alan Pulido nearly put the visitors on the board in the 11th minute, but his shot went into the side netting as goalkeeper Chris Seitz left his goal line.

The felines’ offensive persistence would be rewarded in the 37th minute, when Lucas Lobos collected a cross from Danilo Verón, and slid a low shot to the far post for the game’s first goal.

The lead didn’t last long for the visitors, as FC Dallas sandwiched two goals on either side of halftime.

Collecting a pass from Leyva in the 44th, Luna dashed down the left flank with two defenders crashing and goalkeeper Aarón Fernández darting from his goal line. After seeing the ‘keeper off his line, Luna chipped a shot to the far post for the game’s equalizer, bringing the aggregate goal total to 3-2 in favor of Tigres.

Aside from goals in the reserve league, the cheeky finish was Luna’s first in his career for the first team.

On the other side of halftime, substitute Jackson made his presence known mere moments into the second half, stealing a ball from the Tigres backline, dashing in alone to take on Fernández, and coolly slotting home the FCD’s go-ahead goal in the match and the series-equalizing tally.

Tigres threatened on several occasions after Jackson scored and nearly were rewarded on a shot in the box from Pulido, but Seitz used every inch of his body to make a save with his foot and keep the score unchanged.

The victory marks the first time FC Dallas have won since the competition’s inaugural year in 2006.

FC Dallas return to league play next Sunday, Sept. 11, when they travel to New England to take on the Revolution.

Scoring Summary:
TIG – Lucas Lobos 37
DAL – Ruben Luna (Bryan Leyva) 44
DAL – Jackson 46

Penalty Kicks:
Tigres: (Alan Pulido - goal, Alberto Acosta - goal, Jorge Valencia - goal, Fernando Navarro - goal, Manuel Viniegia – goal, Fernando Acuna – miss)

FC Dallas: (Jackson - goal, Maykel Galindo - goal, Ruben Luna - goal, Jonathan Top - goal, Zach Loyd - goal, Jeremy Hall - goal)

Misconduct Summary:
TIG –Lampros Kontogiannis (caution; reckless tackle) 83

FC Dallas –
Chris Seitz, Victor Ulloa (Jack Stewart 77), Moises Hernandez (Jeremy Hall 64), George John, Andrew Jacobson, Bryan Leyva (Maykel Galindo 69), Bobby Warshaw, Andrew Wiedeman (Jon Top 73), Daniel Cruz (Jackson Goncalves 46), Bruno Guarda (Zach Loyd 21), Ruben Luna.
Substitutes Not Used: Josh Lambo, Richard Sanchez.

Tigres UNAL – Aaron Fernandez, Israel Jimenez (Fernando Navarro 45), Lampros Kontogiannis, Jorge Valencia (Abraham Stringel 66), Jonathan Bornstein (Jorge Espericueta 61), Jesus Duenas, Manuel Viniegra, Lucas Lobos (Alberto Acosta 45), Damian Alvarez (Eder Borelli 45), Danilo Veron (Francisco Acuna 45), Alan Pulido.
Subs Not Used: Enrique Palos

Referee: Jorge Luna
Referee’s Assistants: Jonathan Johnson, KevinTerry Jr.
4th Official: Hayden Edwards
Weather: Fair, 93 degrees
Attendance: 9,219

Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.