Alvaro Saborio with Costa Rica
Getty Images

Saborío among MLSers on Costa Rica roster vs. US

Four players from Major League Soccer highlight the 24-man roster for Costa Rica’s international friendly against the United States at the Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif., on Friday (11 pm ET; ESPN2, Galavisión,

Real Salt Lake striker Álvaro Saborío is once again in the mix with Los Ticos, seeking his 55th career cap with the club. New York Red Bulls defender Roy Miller is also on the roster, along with Portland midfielder Rodney Wallace and Chivas USA defender Michael Umaña.

Striker Bryan Ruiz, who this week joined American midfielder Clint Dempsey with EPL side Fulham, is not on the roster.

Belgium, meanwhile, has also announced their roster for the team’s Sept. 6 matchup against the US in Brussels (ESPN,, headlined by recently signed Chelsea striker Romelu Lukaku, Manchester City defensive stalwart Vincent Kompany and rising star Eden Hazard, who plays for Lille in France.


Goalkeepers: Keylor Navas (Levante, ESP), Leonel Moreira (Herediano, CRC), Danny Carvajal (AD San Carlos, CRC)

Defenders: Christopher Meneses (Alajualense, CRC), Carlos Johnson (Cartaginés, CRC), José Salvatierra (Alajualense, CRC), Michael Umaña (Chivas USA), José Mena (Saprissa, CRC), Roy Miller (New York Red Bulls), Roy Smith (Orión FC, CRC), Johnny Acosta (Alajualense, CRC)

Midfielders: Randall Azofeifa (Gençlerbirligui, TUR), Michael Barrantes (Aalesund, NOR), Allen Guevara (Alajualense, CRC), Kareem Mclean (Limón FC, CRC), David Guzmán (Saprissa, CRC), Rodney Wallace (Portland Timbers), Cristian Bolaños (Copenhagen, DEN), Álvaro Sánchez (AD San Carlos, CRC)

Forwards: Daniel Colíndres (Santos de Guápiles, CRC), Randall Brenes (Cartaginés), Josué Martínez (Saprissa, CRC), Álvaro Saborío (Real Salt Lake), Winston Parks (FK Baki, AZE)


Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea, ENG), Jean-François Gillet (Bologona, ITA), Simon Mignolet (Sunderland, ENG)

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (Ajax, NED), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City, ENG), Nicolas Lombaerts (FC Zenit St. Petersburg, RUS), Denis Odoi (Anderlecht, BEL), Jelle Van Damme (Standard Liége, BEL), Jan Vertonghen (Ajax, NED), Laurent Ciman (Standard Liége, BEL)

Midfielders: Moussa Dembélé (Fulham, ENG), Marouane Fellaini (Everton, ENG), Eden Hazard (Lille, FRA), David Hubert (Genk, BEL), Dries Mertens (PSV Eindhoven, NED), Vadis Odjidja-Ofoe (Club Brugge KV, BEL), Timmy Simons (FC Nürnberg, GER), Jelle Vossen (Genk, BEL), Axel Witsel (Benfica, POR)

Forwards: Igor de Camargo (Borussia Monchengladbach, GER), Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea, ENG), Marvin Ogunjimi (RCD Mallorca, ESP)