Marco Pappa has been awarded the AT&T Goal of the Year honor.
Getty Images/

AT&T Goal of the Year winner: Marco Pappa

Fans, you've seen the runner-ups. Today we reveal the winner of this year's AT&T Goal of the Year: the Chicago Fire's Marco Pappa.

Pappa tallied the wonder-strike in Week 3, against San Jose in the Fire's home opener on April 10.

After some clever wing work by Patrick Nyarko, Collins John laid the ball off to Pappa, who was positioned about 25 yards out. The Guatemalan then fired off a first-time effort with the outside of his left cleat, sending the ball on a swerving path toward the upper 90 of Joe Cannon's goal.

The goal was Pappa's first of seven in 2010 — a career high for the 23-year-old, who added five assists in 25 regular-season appearances for the Fire. He also earned a selection to the MLS All-Star First XI and was featured in's 24 Under 24 profile series, which highlighted the hottest young talent in MLS.

Pappa is the third Fire player to win the MLS Goal of the Year Award and first since Cuauhtémoc Blanco captured the honor in 2007. Damani Ralph earned the award in 2003.

Get Microsoft Silverlight

AT&T Goal of the Year final ranking

1 Marco Pappa

2 Juninho (watch here)

3 Shea Salinas (watch here)

4 Rafa Márquez (watch here)

5 Fredy Montero (watch here)


All-time MLS Goal of the Year Winners

2010: Marco Pappa – Chicago Fire vs. San Jose Earthquakes – April 10, 2010

2009: Landon Donovan – LA Galaxy vs. New England Revolution – August 8, 2009

2008: Will Johnson – Real Salt Lake vs. FC Dallas – October 18, 2008

2007: Cuauhtemoc Blanco – Chicago Fire vs. Real Salt Lake – August 18, 2007

2006: Brian Ching – Houston Dynamo vs. D.C. United – September 30, 2006

2005: Dwayne De Rosario – San Jose Earthquakes at LA Galaxy – October 15, 2005

2004: Dwayne De Rosario – San Jose Earthquakes vs. D.C. United – August 2, 2004

2003: Damani Ralph – Chicago Fire at Columbus Crew – August 13, 2003

2002: Carlos Ruiz – LA Galaxy vs. Columbus Crew – July 27, 2002

2001: Clint Mathis – MetroStars vs. Dallas Burn – April 28, 2001

2000: Marcelo Balboa – Colorado Rapids at Columbus Crew – April 22, 2000

1999: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United at Miami Fusion – May 22, 1999

1998: Brian McBride – Columbus Crew vs. Chicago Fire – July 9, 1998

1997: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United vs. New England Revolution – August 27, 1997

1996: Eric Wynalda – San Jose Earthquakes vs. D.C. United – April 6, 1996

Stay connected: The all-new, completely redesigned, FREE official MLS app is your best mobile source for scores, news, analysis and highlights. Download:  App Store  |  Google Play