Fans select 'El Capitán' as cannon name

Fans of FC Dallas and Houston Dynamo have selected "El Capitán" as the official name of the Mountain Howitzer cannon which will serve as the trophy in the series between the two Texas and Western Conference opponents. The team that wins the 4-game regular season series will keep "El Capitán" for the 2007 season, recognizing the winning side as the best Major League Soccer team in the state of Texas during the year.

During the first year of the series, the cannon will travel to each home stadium and be fired as the home team wishes. At the end of the 2006 regular season finale between the clubs, the team with the most points will retain the cannon for the entire next season. In the event of a tie in points after the four regular season games, the tie breakers will be as follows:; greatest goal-differential in the series; most road goals in the series; most goals scored in the series.

Dynamo won the first game of the series 4-3 on May 6 at Robertson Stadium in Houston, and the teams meet again today, May 13, at Pizza Hut Park. The final two games are on August 12 in Houston and on September 2 in Dallas. FC Dallas is currently in first place in the Western Conference (4-1-2, 14 points), two points ahead of Houston (4-2-0, 12 pts).

In the week leading up to the first game of the 2006 series, over 800 names were suggested for the cannon. Fans then voted for the winner among the top 12 choices. The voting totals were as follows:

El Capitan = 13.98%
Come and Take it = 13.50%
Texas Thunder = 11.93%
Spirit of Texas = 9.76%
Pride of Texas = 9.40%
LoneStar Cannon = 9.28%
The General = 7.47%
Toro 45 = 7.47%
Ol' Thunder = 5.18%
Old Glory = 4.22%
Gonzales Cannon = 4.22%
El Grande = 3.62%

Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.