Josh Wolff's goal Wednesday was voted Goal of the Week.
Edward Zurga Jr./MLS/

Wizards' Wolff nets Goal of the Week

Watch the goal: 56K | 384K

NEW YORK - A goal on a flick-on header by Kansas City Wizards forward Josh Wolff in a 3-1 loss to the Chicago Fire on Wednesday, September 1 was voted as the Sierra Mist MLS Goal of the Week for the week ending September 5, 2004 (Week 23). Wolff's goal was the first he has scored against his former team since being traded to Kansas City prior to the 2003 season.

The Goal of the Week winner is determined from a selection of finalists through a fan vote conducted on the Sierra Mist Goal of the Week section of Major League Soccer's official web site:

Trailing 1-0, Kansas City pulled level shortly after the half-hour mark through Wolff. Davy Arnaud set up his fellow front-runner with a cross from the right flank and Wolff did the rest - getting behind defender Evan Whitfield and with his back to the goal, flicking a header over onrushing Fire goalkeeper D.J. Countess. Wolff, who scored his eighth goal against the MetroStars on Saturday to go along with six assists (22 points) on the year, is having his most productive season since scoring a career-high 10 goals and two assists (22 points) in 1999 while with the Chicago Fire.

The U.S. international's goal (37 percent of the vote) stood out among the four headers nominated for Goal of the Week: Nat Borchers' game-winner (18 percent) for the Colorado Rapids, Matt Behncke's strike (15 percent) for the Dallas Burn, and a goal by Earthquakes forward Chris Brown (14 percent). Chicago Fire midfielder Justin Mapp's diagonal run and shot from the left side (16 percent) also received votes. The honor was the second for a Kansas City player this year (Jack Jewsbury - Week 17).

Streaming video highlights and goals from MLS games are available for viewing every weekend on just hours after the conclusion of the final match of the weekend. The Sierra Mist Goal of the Week winner is announced the following Wednesday.

At the end of the regular season, each of the 29 Goal of the Week winners selected throughout the season will be featured in voting for the Sierra Mist MLS Goal of the Year, an award presented annually to the author of the season's most spectacular scoring play. The Sierra Mist Goal of the Year award will be announced in the days leading up to MLS Cup 2004.

Week 1: Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United)
Week 2: Ronald Cerritos (D.C. United)
Week 3: Dwayne De Rosario (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 4: Carlos Ruiz (Los Angeles Galaxy)
Week 5: Joe Franchino (New England Revolution)
Week 6: Cornell Glen (MetroStars)
Week 7: Jaime Moreno (D.C. United)
Week 8: Freddy Adu (D.C. United)
Week 9: John Wolyniec (MetroStars)
Week 10: Damani Ralph (Chicago Fire)
Week 11: Jeff Agoos (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 12: Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United)
Week 13: Jovan Kirovski (Los Angeles Galaxy)
Week 14: Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United)
Week 15: Steve Ralston (New England Revolution)
Week 16: Brian Ching (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 17: Jack Jewsbury (Kansas City Wizards)
Week 18: Amado Guevara (MetroStars)
Week 19: Dwayne De Rosario (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 20: Matt Crawford (Colorado Rapids)
Week 21: Ross Paule (Columbus Crew)
Week 22: Ronnie O'Brien (Dallas Burn)
Week 23: Josh Wolff (Kansas City Wizards)