Texans Credit Union Walk of Fame inductions to take place Saturday afternoon at Pizza Hut Park

Dallas, Texas - FC Dallas and Pizza Hut Park will officially unveil the inaugural class of the Texans Credit Union Walk of Fame on Saturday evening at 5:30 p.m. (CDT), prior to the FC Dallas regular season finale against the Kansas City Wizards at 7:30 p.m. The ceremony will begin at the North End of the Walk of Fame before working its way toward the stadium, and will be open to the public.

As was announced on September 21, five Texas soccer legends will be enshrined in this inaugural class. Gordon Jago, Bill Kinder, Carla Overbeck, Kyle Rote Jr. and Tatu will all be honored for their contributions to the sport of soccer here in the state of Texas.

These five luminaries will be joined along the Walk of Fame by the five moments that have been chosen as the five most important moments in the history of Texas soccer. These five moments are...

  • The Dallas Burn winning the 1997 U.S. Open Cup
  • The Dallas Tornado winning the 1971 NASL Championship
  • The Dallas Sidekicks winning the 1987 MISL Championship
  • The opening of Pizza Hut Park
  • The U.S. Women's National Team Defeats Mexico 3-1 at the Cotton Bowl on November 3, 2003, marking the final local appearance of the "Golden Girls."
  • These five moments in history, and all others that will follow in the coming years, will be recognized through a marker that will be placed along the Walk of Fame in addition to the monuments that will honor the local soccer legends who are enshrined.

    Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.